Sophie Hannah
Sophie Hannah is a British poet and novelist of psychological thriller novels. She was Fellow Commoner in Creative Arts at Trinity College, Cambridge and a junior research fellow at Wolfson College, Oxford. She has won the Daphne du Maurier Festival Short Story Competition for her story The Octopus Nest and has been shortlisted for several other major awards. She writes the Zailer & Waterhouse Mysteries series. Sophie lives in Cambridge with her husband and two children.

Sophie Hannah was first published in 1992 with the picture book Carrot the Goldfish. After that, she went on to publish several poetry collections and then became a novelist in 1999 with a standalone novel entitled Gripless. Below is a list of Sophie Hannah’s books in order of when they were originally released:

Get notified when Sophie Hannah releases a new book at

Publication Order of Zailer & Waterhouse Mysteries Books

Little Face (2006)Description / Buy at
Hurting Distance / The Truth-Teller's Lie (2007)Description / Buy at
The Wrong Mother / The Point of Rescue (2008)Description / Buy at
The Other Half Lives / The Dead Lie Down (2009)Description / Buy at
A Room Swept White / The Cradle in the Grave (2010)Description / Buy at
Lasting Damage / The Other Woman's House (2011)Description / Buy at
Kind of Cruel (2012)Description / Buy at
The Carrier (2013)Description / Buy at
The Telling Error / Woman with a Secret (2014)Description / Buy at
Pictures or It Didn't Happen (2015)Description / Buy at
The Narrow Bed / The Next to Die (2016)Description / Buy at
The Couple at the Table (2022)Description / Buy at
Pictures or It Didn't Happen is set after The Carrier.

Publication Order of New Hercule Poirot Mysteries Books

The Monogram Murders (2014)Description / Buy at
Closed Casket (2016)Description / Buy at
The Mystery of Three Quarters (2018)Description / Buy at
The Killings at Kingfisher Hill (2020)Description / Buy at
Hercule Poirot's Silent Night (2023)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Gripless (1999)Description / Buy at
Cordial and Corrosive (2000)Description / Buy at
The Superpower of Love (2002)Description / Buy at
The Orphan Choir (2014)Description / Buy at
A Game for All the Family (2015)Description / Buy at
Keep Her Safe / Did You See Melody? (2017)Description / Buy at
The Understudy (With: Clare Mackintosh,B.A. Paris,Holly Brown) (2019)Description / Buy at
Perfect Little Children / Haven't They Grown (2020)Description / Buy at
The Opposite of Murder (2024)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Second Helping of Your Heart (1994)Description / Buy at
The Hero and the Girl Next Door (1995)Description / Buy at
Hotels like Houses (1997)Description / Buy at
Leaving and Leaving You (1999)Description / Buy at
First of the Last Chances (2003)Description / Buy at
Leeds Stories 2 (2005)Description / Buy at
Pessimism for Beginners (2007)Description / Buy at
The Fantastic Book of Everybody's Secrets (2008)Description / Buy at
Ideas Above Our Station (2010)Description / Buy at
The Poetry of Sex (2014)Description / Buy at
Marrying the Ugly Millionaire (2015)Description / Buy at
The Visitors Book (2016)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Picture Books

Carrot the Goldfish (1992)Description / Buy at
Early Bird Blues (1997)Description / Buy at
The Box Room (2002)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

How to Hold a Grudge (2019)Description / Buy at
Happiness, a Mystery: And 66 Attempts to Solve It (2020)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Collections

Love Me Slender: Poems About Love (2000)Description / Buy at
Selected Poems (2006)Description / Buy at
Something Untoward (2012)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Hyphen: Anthology of Short Stories by Poets(2004)Description / Buy at
Bonne Route(2008)Description / Buy at
The Mammoth Book of Best British Crime 7(2010)Description / Buy at
Deadlier(2017)Description / Buy at
Ten Year Stretch(2018)Description / Buy at
Everyday Kindness(2021)Description / Buy at

Notes: Hurting Distance was also published under the North American title of The Truth-Teller’s Lie. The Point of Rescue is known in North America as The Wrong Mother. The Other Half Lives was published in North American under the title The Dead Lie Down. A Room Swept White is the UK title of The Cradle in the Grave. Lasting Damage is titled The Other Woman’s House in North America. The Telling Error was also published as Woman with a Secret.

Leeds Stories 2 also contains writing by Simon Armitage, Joolz Denby, Janet Fisher, Char March and Andrea Semple. Bonne Route also includes the work of M.Y. Alam, Alexis Clements, Anthony Cropper, Pippa Griffin, Michael Nath, Dave Pescod, Wayne Price and Paula Rawsthorne. Ideas Above Our Station also includes contributions from M.Y. Alam, Alex Clements, Anthony Cropper, Tania Hershman, Daithidh MacEochaidh, Michael Nath, Paula Rawsthorne and Guy Ware. The Understudy is written with B.A. Paris, Holly Brown and Claire Mackintosh.

If You Like Sophie Hannah Books, You’ll Love…

Sophie Hannah Synopsis: The picture book Carrot the Goldfish is Sophie Hannah’s first published work. Bobby and his grandmother enjoy tricking eachother. So when Bobby finds carrot skin on floating in water, he thinks it strongly resembles a goldfish. He gets the idea to play an April Fool’s joke on his Grandma.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Sophie Hannah Books

One Response to “Order of Sophie Hannah Books”

  1. Justbecuz: 6 years ago

    Hi, there! I’ve just happened across a collection of what is described as “10 Supernatural Short Stories” titled “The Visitors Book” by Sophie Hannah that’s not listed above. I found it in my local Metropolitan Library’s Digital Catalog. It says that it was first made available November 1, 2016. Happy Reading All!


Leave a Reply