Susan Dunlap
Susan Dunlap is an American author of mystery novels. She writes the Jill Smith and the Darcy Lott series. While she was working as a social worker, an Agatha Christie novel inspired her to try to write her own mysteries. Susan lives near San Francisco.

Susan Dunlap made her debut as a published novelist in 1981 with the novel Karma, introducing readers to Jill Smith. Below is a list of Susan Dunlap’s books in order of when they were first released:

Get notified when Susan Dunlap releases a new book at

Publication Order of Jill Smith Books

Karma (1981)Description / Buy at
As a Favor (1984)Description / Buy at
Not Exactly a Brahmin (1985)Description / Buy at
Too Close to the Edge (1987)Description / Buy at
A Dinner to Die For (1987)Description / Buy at
Diamond in the Buff (1990)Description / Buy at
Death and Taxes (1992)Description / Buy at
Time Expired (1993)Description / Buy at
Sudden Exposure (1996)Description / Buy at
Cop Out (1997)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Darcy Lott Books

Publication Order of Kiernan O'Shaughnessy Books

Publication Order of Vejay Haskell Books

An Equal Opportunity Death (1984)Description / Buy at
The Bohemian Connection (1985)Description / Buy at
The Last Annual Slugfest (1986)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

No Safety (1989)Description / Buy at
Checkout (1993)Description / Buy at
A Contest Fit for a Queen (1995)Description / Buy at
The Celestial Buffet (2001)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

No Safety and Other Short Stories (1995)Description / Buy at
The Celestial Buffet and Other Morsels of Murder (2001)Description / Buy at
Karma and Other Stories (2014)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Deadly Allies Books

Deadly Allies (With: Sue Grafton,Sara Paretsky,Jan Grape,Margaret Maron,Nancy Pickard,Loren D. Estleman,Julie Smith,Jeremiah Healy,Max Allan Collins,Benjamin M. Schutz,John Lutz,Robert J. Randisi,Carolyn Hart,Lia Matera,Michael Collins,Marilyn Wallace,Rob Kantner,Sandra Scoppettone,Sarah Andrews,Bob Randisi) (1992)Description / Buy at
Deadly Allies II (With: Loren D. Estleman,John Lutz,Robert J. Randisi) (1994)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Sisters in Crime 2(1990)Description / Buy at
Deadly Allies(1992)Description / Buy at
Female Sleuths(1993)Description / Buy at
Great Mystery Series: Top Female Sleuths(1993)Description / Buy at
Deadly Allies II(1994)Description / Buy at
Partners in Crime(1994)Description / Buy at
More Malice Domestic(1997)Description / Buy at
Mom, Apple Pie and Murder(1999)Description / Buy at
Malice Domestic 10(2001)Description / Buy at
Berkeley Noir(2020)Description / Buy at

Note: Deadly Allies 2 was edited with Robert J. Randisi.

If You Like Susan Dunlap Books, You’ll Love…

Susan Dunlap Synopsis: Karma by Susan Dunlap is the first novel in the Jill Smith series by Susan Dunlap. A thirty-something junk-food maven and brash, brainy Berkeley cop, Jill Smith usually doesn’t spend much time contemplating her navel. But she accepted an invitation to see the new guru in town. She was as shocked as the rest of the packed house when the young man’s spirit rose to heaven before their very eyes… with a little earthly aid from the dagger buried deep in his swirling red robes. His followers say it was hi karma to die. Now Jill Smith’s seeking enlightenment – looking deep into prime causes such as love, hate, ambition, and dark dreams. Among a host of devoted disciples, rough real-estate dealers, rival soul savers, and beautiful consorts, she’s searching for the answer to a cop’s prayers: the person whose karma is to kill.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Susan Dunlap Books

Leave a Reply