Tara Laskowski is an American author who debuted on the scene with her novel, One Night Gone. The book was a big hit upon release and won the Agatha Award for Best First Novel. She also won the Agatha Award in 2019 for her short fiction.

Laskowski attended Susquehanna University and earned her BA in English with a minor in writing. She then continued her education at George Mason University where she earned her MFA in creative writing. Tara grew up in Pennsylvania and stayed in the Northeast in her adult life as she now lives in Virginia. Laskowski is a prolific short fiction writer with two published short story collections. She was also the longtime editor of the online flash fiction journal SmokeLong Quarterly.

Get notified when Tara Laskowski releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

One Night Gone (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Mother Next Door (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Weekend Retreat (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

The Case of the Vanishing Professor (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Long-Term Tenant (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Collections

Modern Manners For Your Inner Demons (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Bystanders (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Anthologies

The New Black(2014)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Flash Fiction International(2015)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Best Small Fictions 2017(2017)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Beat of Black Wings(2020)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Chesapeake Crimes: Magic is Murder(2022)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Healing Visions(2023)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Come October: An Anthology of Autumnal Horror(2023)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

If You Like Tara Laskowski Books, You’ll Love…

One Night Gone: A Novel is the smash debut from Tara Laskowski. The story starts on summer in the wealthy town of Opal Beach where Maureen Haddaway is ready to start a new life. Maureen is seduced by the new town and the promise of friendship, love, starry skies, and wild parties. However, it turns out that this new life might just be too good to be true and before the summer ends, she disappears. The story then picks up decades later when Allison Simpson is fresh off a divorce and gets a chance to house sit on Opal Beach during the off-season. She finds out the story of Maureen and becomes interested in finding out the truth about what happened to her.

Tara also released the short story collection Modern Manners for Your Inner Demons. The book is filled with stories that break the rules of a “decent” society. The stories blend humor with sharp social commentary and cover topics like obesity, dementia, infertility, homicide, arson, and more.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Tara Laskowski Books

Leave a Reply