Viveca Sten
Viveca Sten is a Swedish author of Scandinavian crime fiction novels. She writes the Sandhamn Murders series. Viveca is not only an author; she currently works as head jurist at the Swedish postal service. She earned her law degree from Stockholm University in addition to her MBA from the Stockholm School of Economics. Viveca lives outside of Stockholm, Sweden with her husband and three children. She has always spent her summers on Sandhamn, an island near Stockholm where her family has owned a house for multiple generations.

Prior to publishing her work in English, Viveca Sten had written three different non-fiction books and published six crime novels in Swedish. Her first novel to appear in English was Still Waters in 2015. Below is a list of Viveca Sten’s books in order of when they were originally released:

Get notified when Viveca Sten releases a new book at

Publication Order of Sandhamn Books

Still Waters (2008)Description / Buy at
Closed Circles (2009)Description / Buy at
Guiltless (2010)Description / Buy at
Tonight You’re Dead (2011)Description / Buy at
In the Heat of the Moment (2012)Description / Buy at
In Harm's Way (2013)Description / Buy at
In the Shadow of Power (2014)Description / Buy at
In the Name of Truth (2015)Description / Buy at
In Bad Company (2018)Description / Buy at
Buried in Secret (2022)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of The Åre Murders Books

Hidden in Snow (2022)Description / Buy at
Hidden in Shadows (2023)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Cookbooks

Swedish Summer (2020)Description / Buy at

If You Like Viveca Sten Books, You’ll Love…

Viveca Sten Synopsis: In Still Waters by Viveca Sten (book 1 of the Sandhamn Murders series), it’s a hot July in Sandhamn. A man takes his dog for a walk and is surprised to find a body, tangled in fishing net on the shore. Detective Thomas Andreasson is the first to arrive. He quickly identifies the victim as Krister Berggren, a bachelor from the mainland who has been missing for months. Everything points to an accident – until another brutalized corpse is found at the local bed-and-breakfast. But this time it is Berggren’s cousin, whom Thomas had interviewed in Stockholm only days earlier. As the island’s residents reel from the news, Thomas turns to his childhood friend, local lawyer Nora Linde. Together, they attempt to unravel the riddles left behind by these two mysterious outsiders – while trying to make sense of the difficult twists their own lives have taken since the shared summer days of their youth.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Viveca Sten Books

Leave a Reply