The Aelf Fen Mysteries is a series of historical mystery novels by English author Alys Clare. Set in East Anglia during the 11th century, the main protagonists belong to two Fenland families, one of which has roots that go back to the original inhabitants of Britain.

Alys Clare began her Aelf Fen Mysteries series in 2009 with the novel Out of the Dawn Light. The series is currently ongoing. Below is a list of Alys Clare’s books in order of when they were originally published (which is the same as their chronological order):

Get notified when Alys Clare releases a new book at

Publication Order of Aelf Fen Mysteries Books

Out of the Dawn Light(2009)Description / Buy at
Mist Over the Water(2010)Description / Buy at
Music of the Distant Stars(2010)Description / Buy at
The Way Between the Worlds(2011)Description / Buy at
Land of the Silver Dragon(2013)Description / Buy at
Blood of the South(2015)Description / Buy at
The Night Wanderer(2016)Description / Buy at
The Rufus Spy(2018)Description / Buy at
City of Pearl(2019)Description / Buy at
The Lammas Wild(2021)Description / Buy at

If You Like Aelf Fen Books, You’ll Love…

Aelf Fen Synopses: Out of the Dawn Light by Alys Clare is the first Aelf Fen mystery. England, 1087. On her sister’s wedding day, Lassair meets an enigmatic stranger who brings a breath of the fascinating outside world to her backwater Fenland village. When he asks Lassair to use her unique talents to help locate a mysterious treasure she accepts, despite the dangers. But this is no ordinary treasure hunt; the object of the perilous search is five hundred years old and has a terrifying power…

Mist Over the Water by Alys Clare is book 2 in the series. On Ely Island, the Normans are proclaiming their authority with the construction of a magnificent cathedral. When Morcar, fishing for eels nearby, is attacked, his cousin Lassair is sent to nurse him. Morcar tells Lassair a frightening tale of assassins in the dark and a brief vision of horror. Then the killers strike again, and, as the secret hidden within the walls of Ely Abbey claims more victims, Lassair is forced to face a challenge that she fears is far beyond her…

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Aelf Fen Mysteries Books

Leave a Reply