Inspector Alan Grant is the central character in a series of mystery novels by Scottish novelist Josephine Tey. Grant is an inspector with Scotland Yard. The most famous novel of the series, The Daughter of Time, was named the greatest mystery novel of all time by the Crime Writers’ Association in 1990.

The Alan Grant series began in 1929 with the novel The Man in the Queue by Gordon Daviot (aka Killer in the Crowd). The novel would later be re-published using the Josephine Tey pen name. The series lasted six books until The Singing Sands, published in 1952. Below is a list of Josephine Tey’s Inspector Alan Grant books in order of when they were originally published (which is also their chronology):

Publication Order of Inspector Alan Grant Books

The Man in the Queue / Killer in the Crowd(1929)Description / Buy at
A Shilling for Candles(1936)Description / Buy at
The Franchise Affair(1948)Description / Buy at
To Love and Be Wise(1950)Description / Buy at
The Daughter of Time(1951)Description / Buy at
The Singing Sands(1952)Description / Buy at

Notes: The Man in the Queue was also published using the pen name as Gordon Daviot. The novel was also published as Killer in the Crowd.

If You Like Alan Grant Books, You’ll Love…

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Alan Grant Books

Leave a Reply