Benjamin January by Barbara Hambly
Benjamin January is the protagonist in a series of historical mystery novels by American author Barbara Hambly. Benjamin January is a mixed race man who has freed from slavery when he was a child by his mother’s love. He lived in France for a time, where he trained as a surgeon, but can’t get much work in the field due to his skin-colour. Now he lives in New Orleans, Louisiana, where he works as a piano player. The series is set in the early part of the 19th century, prior to the Civil War.

Barbara Hambly began her Benjamin January series in 1997 with the novel A Free Man of Color. The series is currently ongoing. Below is a list of Barbara Hambly’s Benjamin January books in order of when they were originally released (which is the same as their chronological order):

Get notified when Barbara Hambly releases a new book at

Publication Order of Benjamin January Books

A Free Man of Color(1997)Description / Buy at
Fever Season(1998)Description / Buy at
Graveyard Dust(1999)Description / Buy at
Sold Down the River(2000)Description / Buy at
Die Upon a Kiss(2001)Description / Buy at
Wet Grave(2002)Description / Buy at
Days of the Dead(2003)Description / Buy at
Dead Water(2004)Description / Buy at
Dead and Buried(2010)Description / Buy at
The Shirt On His Back(2011)Description / Buy at
Ran Away(2011)Description / Buy at
Good Man Friday(2013)Description / Buy at
Crimson Angel(2014)Description / Buy at
Hagar(2015)Description / Buy at
Libre(2015)Description / Buy at
There Shall Your Heart Be Also(2015)Description / Buy at
A Time For Every Purpose Under Heaven(2015)Description / Buy at
Death on the Moon(2016)Description / Buy at
Drinking Gourd(2016)Description / Buy at
Murder in July(2017)Description / Buy at
Cold Bayou(2018)Description / Buy at
Lady of Perdition(2019)Description / Buy at
House of the Patriarch(2020)Description / Buy at
Death and Hard Cider(2022)Description / Buy at
The Nubian’s Curse(2024)Description / Buy at

If You Like Benjamin January Books, You’ll Love…

Benjamin January Synopsis: In A Free Man of Color by Barbara Hambly (book 1 of the series), Ben January is a Creole physician and music teacher. He is playing piano at Salle d’Orleans during Mardi Gras when the night is interrupted by murder. Angelique Crozat has been strangled to death. Authorities are not interested in investigating the octoroon’s death, so Ben decides to do his own investigation. But it won’t be long before there are those who suspect Ben – a free man of colour – of the murder.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Benjamin January Books

Leave a Reply