Black Cat Bookshop Mysteries by Ali Brandon
The Black Cat Bookshop Mysteries series is series of cozy mystery novels by American novelist Ali Brandon. The series follows new book store owner Darla Pettistone, who must solve mysteries alongside a black cat named Hamlet.

Ali Brandon began her Black Cat Bookshop Mysteries series in 2011 with the novel Double Booked for Death. The series is currently ongoing. Below is a list of Ali Brandon’s Black Cat Bookshop Mysteries books in order of when they were originally published (which is the same as their chronological order):

Get notified when Ali Brandon releases a new book at

Publication Order of Black Cat Bookshop Mystery Books

Double-Booked for Death(2011)Description / Buy at
A Novel Way to Die(2012)Description / Buy at
Words With Fiends(2013)Description / Buy at
Literally Murder(2014)Description / Buy at
Plot Boiler(2015)Description / Buy at
Twice Told Tail(2016)Description / Buy at

If You Like Black Cat Bookshop Mysteries Books, You’ll Love…

Black Cat Bookshop Mysteries Synopses: Double Booked for Death by Ali Brandon is the first book in the Black Cat Bookshop Mysteries series. Darla Pettistone is the new owner of Pettistone’s Fine Books and she is determined to prove herself a worthy successor to her late great-aunt Dee… and equally determined to outsmart Hamlet, the cat she got with the shop. Darla’s first store event is a real coup: the hottest bestselling author of the moment is holding a signing there. But when the author meets an untimely death during the event, it’s ruled an accident – until Hamlet finds something that suggests otherwise…

In A Novel Way to Die by Ali Brandon (book 2 of the series), Darla is getting used to her new life, even coming to terms with Hamlet the cat. Unfortunately, when she needs to hire a new clerk, the cat decides to have his say in who gets the job. He chases away applicants who don’t meet his approval, finally settling on an unlikely candidate: Robert, a book-loving Goth kid who has a secret only Hamlet knows. Still, Hamlet can’t seem to stay out of trouble. One of the bookstore’s regular customers, a man who is renovating a local brownstone, claims he’s seen Hamlet prowling the neighborhood. When the man’s business partner is found dead, Darla discovers that Hamlet may have been the only witness to what could be murder. With the crafty cat’s help, she wonders if they just might be able to pounce on a killer…

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Black Cat Bookshop Mysteries Books

Leave a Reply