The Blood series is an urban fantasy series by Canadian novelist Tanya Huff that mixes in themes of detective fiction. The central characters of the series are former police office Vicki Nelson and historical romance author Henry Fitzroy (who happens to be a vampire). Fitzroy was the illegitimate son of Henry VIII before becoming a vampire. Vicki’s nickname is “Victory,” for her successful record of investigations. The two team up in order to battle supernatural threats. The series takes place throughout Canada – mostly in Toronto, London and Vancouver. The series was adapted into the TV series Blood Ties that aired on CBC and Lifetime. Following the Blood series, Tanya spun-off Henry Fitzroy’s protege Tony Foster into a new series called Smoke. The Blood series is also known as the Victoria Nelson series.

The Blood series began in 1991 with Blood Price. The final novel in the series is Blood Debt in 1997. Following that, the short story collection Blood Bank was published in 2006. The Smoke series began in 2004 with Smoke and Shadows. Below is a list of Tanya Huff’s Blood series as well as her Smoke series in order of when the books were originally published:

Get notified when Tanya Huff releases a new book at

Publication Order of Vicki Nelson Books

Publication Order of Smoke Trilogy Books

Smoke and Shadows(2004)Description / Buy at
Smoke and Mirrors(2005)Description / Buy at
Smoke and Ashes(2006)Description / Buy at

If You Like Blood/Smoke Books, You’ll Love…

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Blood/Smoke Books

Leave a Reply