Dorothy Must Die by Danielle Paige
Dorothy Must Die is a series of YA fantasy novels and novellas by Danielle Paige. The series is meant as a follow-up/re-imagining to The Wonderful Wizard of Oz by L. Frank Baum, with an edge.

Danielle Paige began her Dorothy Must Die series with a series of prequel novellas, beginning with No Place Like Oz in 2013. The novellas are set prior to the novels in the series. The first novel in the series, titled Dorothy Must Die, was published in 2014. The series is currently ongoing. Below is a list of Danielle Paige’s Dorothy Must Die books in order of when they were first released (as well as in chronological order):

Get notified when Danielle Paige releases a new book at

Publication Order of Dorothy Must Die Books

Dorothy Must Die(2014)Description / Buy at
The Wicked Will Rise(2015)Description / Buy at
Yellow Brick War(2016)Description / Buy at
The End of Oz(2017)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Dorothy Must Die Short Stories/Novellas

No Place Like Oz(2013)Description / Buy at
The Witch Must Burn(2014)Description / Buy at
The Wizard Returns(2015)Description / Buy at
Heart of Tin(2015)Description / Buy at
The Straw King(2015)Description / Buy at
Ruler of Beasts(2016)Description / Buy at
Order of the Wicked(2016)Description / Buy at
Dark Side of the Rainbow(2017)Description / Buy at
The Queen of Oz(2017)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Dorothy Must Die Collections

Dorothy Must Die: Stories, Vol. 1(2015)Description / Buy at
Dorothy Must Die: Stories, Vol. 2(2016)Description / Buy at
Dorothy Must Die: Stories, Vol. 3(2017)Description / Buy at

If You Like Dorothy Must Die Books, You’ll Love…

Dorothy Must Die Synopsis: No Place Like Oz by Danielle Paige is a 125-page prequel novella to the Dorothy Must Die series. After Dorothy clicked her heels thrice and returned to Kansas, it was the end… or was it? She may be happy to be home with Aunt Em, but she’s regretting her decision to leave. So when a mysterious gift arrives at her doorstep on her 16th birthday, Dorothy jumps at the chance to return to the glittering city that made her a star. Setting off for the Emerald City, Dorothy is eager to be reunited with her friends: the Scarecrow, the Tin Woodman, and the Cowardly Lion. But she soon discovers that in her absence, Oz has changed – and Dorothy has, too. This time, the yellow brick road leads her down a very different path. And before her journey is through, Dorothy will find that the line between wicked and good has become so blurred she’s not sure which side of it she’s on.

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Dorothy Must Die Books

2 Responses to “Order of Dorothy Must Die Books”

  1. James Huber: 3 years ago

    what order should i read these books in to get a good understanding of the story?


    • Graeme: 3 years ago

      While the novellas are all prequels – I would probably read the main books first. Then treat the novellas as bonuses to read after the fact. I should note for this series this is one question where opinions are very mixed. Some prefer reading the novellas first, others prefer reading them all in a mix by the publication order.


Leave a Reply