Finishing School by Gail Carriger
The Finishing School series is a series of YA steampunk adventure novels by American novelist Gail Carriger. The series is set 25 years prior to her Parasol Protectorate series in the same world. The title of the series refers to an academy that is inside an airship that resembles a gigantic caterpillar. Inside, the ladies learn how to finish everything and everyone that is required of them.

Gail Carriger began her Finishing School series in 2013 with the novel Etiquette and Espionage. The series is planned for four novels, concluding with 2015’s Manners and Mutiny. Below is a list of Gail Carriger’s Finishing School books in order of when they were originally released (which is the same as their chronological order):

Get notified when Gail Carriger releases a new book at

Publication Order of Finishing School Books

Etiquette & Espionage(2013)Description / Buy at
Curtsies & Conspiracies(2013)Description / Buy at
Waistcoats & Weaponry(2014)Description / Buy at
Manners & Mutiny(2015)Description / Buy at

If You Like Finishing School Books, You’ll Love…

Finishing School Synopsis: In Etiquette & Espionage by Gail Carriger (book 1 of 4 in the series), 14 year-old Sophronia would much rather take clocks apart and climb trees than learn proper manners – to her mother’s chagrin. Her family’s only hope that no one actually sees that horrible curtsy she does. Mrs. Temminnick would like nothing more than her daughter to become a proper lady, and so she enrolls Sophronia in Mademoiselle Geraldine’s Finishing Academy for Young Ladies of Quality. But in actuality, the school is not what her mother had thought. At this finishing school, young ladies are taught how to finish everything. Sure, they learn dance, dress and etiquette, but they also learn about death, diversion and espionage – politely, of course. Sophronia and her friends are in for a rousing first year’s education.

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Finishing School Books

Leave a Reply