Fire and Ice by Michael Ridpath
Fire and Ice is a series of crime thriller novels by English novelist Michael Ridpath. The Fire and Ice series features an Icelandic-American named Magnus Jonson. Jonson was born in Iceland, raised in Boston and now he has returned to his birthplace of Iceland in order to work as a homicide detective. Although the series is written by an English author, it is written in the style of Scandinavian crime fiction.

Michael Ridpath began his Fire and Ice series in 2010 with the novel Where the Shadows Lie. The series is currently ongoing. Below is a list of Michael Ridpath’s Fire and Ice books in order of when they were originally published (which is the same as their chronological order):

Get notified when Michael Ridpath releases a new book at

Publication Order of Fire and Ice / Magnus Iceland Books

Where the Shadows Lie(2009)Description / Buy at
Far North / 66 Degrees North(2011)Description / Buy at
Edge of Nowhere(2011)Description / Buy at
Meltwater(2012)Description / Buy at
Sea of Stone(2014)Description / Buy at
The Polar Bear Killing(2016)Description / Buy at
The Wanderer(2018)Description / Buy at
Death in Dalvik(2022)Description / Buy at
Whale Fjord(2024)Description / Buy at

Note: 66 Degrees North was published as Far North in the United States.

If You Like Fire and Ice Books, You’ll Love…

Fire & Ice Synopsis: Where the Shadows Lie is book 1 of the Fire and Ice series by Michael Ridpath. There are rumours of an 800 year-old manuscript somewhere in Iceland that contains details about a ring that holds great power. The manuscript would be worth a fortune if found, and it’s certainly worth killing over – something Professor Agnar Haraldsson will learn first hand. After angering a drug cartel back home in Boston, Magnus Jonson was sent to Iceland. Also of interest to Magnus is the unsolved murder of his own father.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Fire and Ice Books

Leave a Reply