Forrest Gump is a character created by American author Winston Groom. Forrest is an Alabama boy who is a little slow, so Groom writes the character with spelling errors to accentuate this. Despite his low IQ, Forrest is the classic overachiever and goes on various adventures from the ping pong championships to Vietnam to shrimpin’ and much more. The novel was adapted into the smash hit Oscar-winning movie in 1994, which starred Tom Hanks.

The Forrest Gump character made his debut in the title novel, published in 1986. Below is a list of Winston Groom’s Forrest Gump books in order of when they were originally released:

Publication Order of Forrest Gump Books

Publication Order of Forrest Gump Non-Fiction Books

Gumpisms(1994)Description / Buy at
The Bubba Gump Shrimp Co. Cookbook(1994)Description / Buy at

If You Like Forrest Gump Books, You’ll Love…

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Forrest Gump Books

Leave a Reply