Gertie Johnson by Deb Baker
Gertie Johnson is the protagonist in a series of cozy mystery novels by American author Deb Baker. The mother of a sheriff, 66 year-old widow Gertie lives in Michigan’s Upper Peninsula and solves mysteries with Cora Mae and Kitty.

Deb Baker debuted her Gertie Johnson series in 2006 with the novel Murder Passes the Buck. The series is currently ongoing. Below is a list of Deb Baker’s Gertie Johnson books in order of when they were first published (which is the same as their chronological order):

Get notified when Deb Baker releases a new book at

Publication Order of Gertie Johnson: Yooper Mysteries Books

Murder Passes The Buck(2006)Description / Buy at
Murder Grins And Bears It(2007)Description / Buy at
Murder Talks Turkey(2008)Description / Buy at
Murder Bites the Bullet(2011)Description / Buy at
Murder Trims the Tree(2011)Description / Buy at
Murder Begins at Home(2012)Description / Buy at
Murder Decks the Halls(2015)Description / Buy at
Murder Goes To The Dogs(2016)Description / Buy at

If You Like Gertie Johnson Books, You’ll Love…

Gertie Johnson Synopses: Cooking Can Be Murder is a cookbook by Deb Baker that includes 100 recipes from Gertie Johnson, Cora Mae and Kitty. It includes Cora Mae’s Hot and Heavy Manly Sandwich and Kitty’s Drop Dead Desserts. There is also a recipe for Grandma Johnson’s casserole.

In Murder Passes the Buck by Deb Baker, Gertie Johnson is investigating a neighbour’s murder. Along the way, she’s helped by her grandson Little Donny and friends Cora Mae and Kitty. The neighbour’s death is ruled accidental by the sheriff, Gertie’s own son. Gertie will do whatever it takes to crack this case, including interrogating neighbours and impersonating the FBI.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Gertie Johnson Books

Leave a Reply