Jessica Balzano and Kevin Byrne are the protagonists in a series of police procedural/thriller novels by American author Richard Montanari. The series takes place in the homicide unit of the Philadelphia Police Department and is narrated by detectives Kevin Byrne and his partner Jessica Balzano. Publishers Weekly has said that the books “possess a psychological depth all too rare in such fiction.”

Richard Montanari started his Jessica Balzano/Kevin Byrne series in 2005 with the novel The Rosary Girls. The series is currently ongoing. Below is a list of Richard Montanari’s Jessica Balzano/Kevin Byrne books in order of when they were originally released (and in chronological order):

Get notified when Richard Montanari releases a new book at

Publication Order of Jessica Balzano & Kevin Byrne Books

The Rosary Girls(2005)Description / Buy at
The Skin Gods(2006)Description / Buy at
Broken Angels / Merciless(2007)Description / Buy at
Play Dead / Badlands(2008)Description / Buy at
The Echo Man(2011)Description / Buy at
The Killing Room(2012)Description / Buy at
The Stolen Ones(2013)Description / Buy at
The Doll Maker(2014)Description / Buy at
A Christmas Killing(2014)Description / Buy at
Shutter Man(2015)Description / Buy at

Notes: Broken Angels is alternatively titled as Merciless. Play Dead is also titled Badlands.

If You Like Jessica Balzano & Kevin Byrne Books, You’ll Love…

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Jessica Balzano/Kevin Byrne Books

Leave a Reply