Joanne Ross by AD Scott
Joanne Ross is the protagonist in a series of historical mystery novels by Scottish novelist A.D. Scott. Set in the Highlands in the 1950s, Joanne Ross works as a part-time typist at the Highland Gazette.

A.D. Scott began her Joanne Ross series in 2010 with the novel A Small Death in the Great Glen. The series is currently ongoing. Below is a list of A.D. Scott’s Joanne Ross books in order of when they were first published (which is the same as their chronological order):

Get notified when A.D. Scott releases a new book at

Publication Order of Joanne Ross Books

A Small Death in the Great Glen(2010)Description / Buy at
A Double Death on the Black Isle(2011)Description / Buy at
Beneath the Abbey Wall(2012)Description / Buy at
North Sea Requiem(2013)Description / Buy at
The Low Road(2014)Description / Buy at
A Kind of Grief(2015)Description / Buy at

If You Like Joanne Ross Books, You’ll Love…

Joanne Ross Synopsis: A Double Death on the Black Isle is the second novel in the Joanne Ross series by author A.D. Scott. Nothing is ever quite at peace on Scotland’s Black Isle – the Traveling people are forever at odds with the locals, the fishermen have nothing in common with the farmers, and the villages have no connection with the town. But when two deaths occur on the same day, involving the same families from the same estate – the Black Isle seems as forbidding as its name. Joanne Ross, typist at the Highland Gazette, is torn whether to take on the plum task of reporting on these murders – after all, the woman at the center of both crimes is one of her closest friends. Joanne knows the story could be her big break, and for a woman in the mid-1950s – a single mother, no less – good work is hard to come by. But the investigation by the staff on the Gazette reveals secrets that will forever change this quiet, remote part of the Highlands. The ancient feudal order is crumbling, loyalties are tested, friendships torn apart, and the sublime beauty of the landscape will never seem peaceful again.

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Joanne Ross Books

Leave a Reply