John Madden by Rennie Airth
John Madden is the protagonist in a series of historical mystery novels by South African novelist Rennie Airth. Inspector John Madden works out of Scotland Yard. Prior to becoming a detective, he was a veteran of World War I.

Rennie Airth began his John Madden series in 1999 with the novel River of Darkness. Originally planned as a trilogy, the series is currently ongoing. Below is a list of Rennie Airth’s John Madden books in order of when they were first released (which is the same as their chronological order):

Get notified when Rennie Airth releases a new book at

Publication Order of John Madden Books

River of Darkness(1999)Description / Buy at
The Blood-Dimmed Tide(2004)Description / Buy at
The Dead of Winter(2009)Description / Buy at
The Reckoning(2014)Description / Buy at
The Death of Kings(2017)Description / Buy at
The Decent Inn of Death(2020)Description / Buy at

If You Like Rennie Airth Books, You’ll Love…

John Madden Synopsis: The Blood-Dimmed Tide by Rennie Airth, set in 1932, is the second novel featuring Inspector John Madden, whose discovery of a young girl’s mutilated body near his home in rural England brings him out of retirement despite his wife’s opinion. He soon finds himself chasing a killer whose horrific crime could have implications far afield in a Europe threatened by the rise of Hitler.

Order of Books » Characters » Order of John Madden Books

Leave a Reply