John Pearce is the central character in a series of historical naval fiction by Scottish author David Donachie. Set in the late 18th century, Pearce is a young firebrand who has been taken from Pelican tavern to aboard the deck of the war-bound HMS Brilliant.

The John Pearce series began in 2004 with the novel By the Mast Divided. The series is currently ongoing. Below is a list of David Donachie’s John Pearce books in order of when they were originally published (which is also their chronological order):

Publication Order of John Pearce Books

By the Mast Divided(2005)Description / Buy at
A Shot Rolling Ship(2005)Description / Buy at
An Awkward Commission(2007)Description / Buy at
A Flag of Truce(2008)Description / Buy at
The Admiral's Game(2008)Description / Buy at
An Ill Wind(2009)Description / Buy at
Blown Off Course(2010)Description / Buy at
Enemies at Every Turn(2012)Description / Buy at
A Sea of Troubles(2012)Description / Buy at
A Divided Command(2013)Description / Buy at
The Devil to Pay(2014)Description / Buy at
The Perils of Command(2016)Description / Buy at
A Treacherous Coast(2016)Description / Buy at
On a Particular Service(2017)Description / Buy at
A Close Run Thing(2019)Description / Buy at
HMS Hazard(2021)Description / Buy at
A Troubled Course(2022)Description / Buy at
Droits of the Crown(2023)Description / Buy at

If You Like John Pearce Books, You’ll Love…

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of John Pearce Books

Leave a Reply