John Quincannon is the protagonist in a series of historical mystery novels by American author Bill Pronzini. The series is set in San Francisco in the 19th century. John Frederick Quincannon is a former Secret Service agent who joins forces with Sabina Carpenter, one of the first female Pinkerton agents.

Pronzini debuted his John Quincannon character in Quincannon, published in 1985. The series is currently ongoing. Below is a list of Bill Pronzini’s John Quincannon books in order of when they were first published (as well as in chronological order):

Get notified when Bill Pronzini releases a new book at

Publication Order of John Quincannon Books

(By: Bill Pronzini, Marcia Muller)

Publication Order of Carpenter and Quincannon Mystery Books

(By: Marcia Muller, Bill Pronzini)

The Bughouse Affair(2013)Description / Buy at
The Spook Lights Affair(2013)Description / Buy at
The Body Snatchers Affair(2015)Description / Buy at
The Plague of Thieves Affair(2016)Description / Buy at
The Dangerous Ladies Affair(2017)Description / Buy at
The Bags of Tricks Affair(2018)Description / Buy at
The Flimflam Affair(2019)Description / Buy at
The Stolen Gold Affair(2020)Description / Buy at
The Paradise Affair(2021)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Carpenter and Quincannon Collections

Carpenter & Quincannon, Professional Detective Services(1998)Description / Buy at
Quincannon's Game(2005)Description / Buy at

Note: The Carpenter & Quincannon books and the novel Beyond the Grave are co-authored by Marcia Muller.

If You Like John Quincannon Books, You’ll Love…

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of John Quincannon Books

Leave a Reply