Jonathan Argyll Art History Mysteries by Iain Pears
Jonathan Argyll is the protagonist in a series of mystery novels by English novelist Iain Pears. Jonathan Argyll is an art history scholar and detective who works with the Italian Art Squad, including General Bottando and his deputy Flavia di Stefano (who is sometimes his lover). The series is also known as the Art History Mysteries.

Iain Pears began his Jonathan Argyll series with his debut novel, The Raphael Affair. The series lasted seven novels, concluding in 2000 with the novel The Immaculate Deception. Below is a list of Iain Pears’ Jonathan Argyll books in order of when they were first released (which is the same as their chronological order):

Get notified when Iain Pears releases a new book at

Publication Order of Jonathan Argyll Books

The Raphael Affair(1990)Description / Buy at
The Titian Committee(1991)Description / Buy at
The Bernini Bust(1992)Description / Buy at
The Last Judgement(1993)Description / Buy at
Giotto's Hand(1995)Description / Buy at
Death and Restoration(1996)Description / Buy at
The Immaculate Deception(2000)Description / Buy at

If You Like Jonathan Argyll Books, You’ll Love…

Jonathan Argyll Art History Mysteries Synopses: In The Raphael Affair by Iain Pears (book 1 of the series), Jonathan Argyll and his occasional lover Flavia di Stefano investigate the mystery of a Raphael that has been found recently.

The Titian Committee is book 2 in the Jonathan Argyll series by Iain Pears. Argyll and Flavia di Stefano look into the mysterious death of a well-known research committee member who was found dead in a Venetian garden.

In The Bernini Bust by Iain Pears (book 3 of the series), Jonathan Argyll is L.A. doing business with the Moresby Museum when the owner of the museum is found murdered and a Bernini bust goes missing. And while he awaits his friends, Argyll himself may be the next victim…

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Jonathan Argyll Books

Leave a Reply