Lake District Mysteries by Martin Edwards
The Lake District Mysteries is a series of crime thriller/mystery novels by British author Martin Edwards. The series follows DCI Hannah Scarlett and Oxford historian Daniel Kind. Scarlet leads the Cumbria Constabulary Cold Case Review Team and is mentored by Ben Kind (Daniel’s father). Following Ben’s death, she meets Ben’s son Daniel and friendship (and perhaps more) begins to blossom.

Martin Edwards began his Lake District Mysteries series in 2004 with the novel The Coffin Trail. The series is currently ongoing. Below is a list of Martin Edwards’ Lake District Mysteries books in order of when they were first published (which is the same as their chronological order):

Get notified when Martin Edwards releases a new book at

Publication Order of Lake District Mysteries Books

The Coffin Trail(2004)Description / Buy at
The Cipher Garden(2005)Description / Buy at
The Arsenic Labyrinth(2007)Description / Buy at
The Serpent Pool(2010)Description / Buy at
The Hanging Wood(2011)Description / Buy at
The Frozen Shroud(2013)Description / Buy at
The Dungeon House(2015)Description / Buy at
The Crooked Shore / The Girl They All Forgot(2021)Description / Buy at

If You Like Lake District Mysteries Books, You’ll Love…

Lake District Mysteries Synopsis: The Coffin Trail is the first Lake District Mystery by author Martin Edwards. Daniel Kind is a Oxford historian who has a TV gig. He and his significant other, Miranda, are looking to start anew, so they head to the Lake District. Daniel is familiar with the area from his days as a youngster. The area is so out of the way that corpses need to be carried out on pack animals down the Coffin Trail. The cottage they buy was home to a young autistic guy named Barrie Gilpin, who has been suspected of murder. A young woman was found on the Sacrifice Stone and Barrie was found having fallen to his death nearby. Daniel Kind believes Barrie was innocent, and DCI Hannah Scarlett is looking to investigate this cold case.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Lake District Mysteries Books

Leave a Reply