Lt Leary RCN by David Drake
The Lt. Leary series (also known as the RCN series) is a series of science fiction novels by American novelist David Drake. The series follows Republic of Cinnabar Navy (RCN) Lt. Daniel Leary as well as a librarian and spy named Adele Mundy. Lt. Leary is a top strategist, excellent leader and a ladies’ man. His father (who he is estranged from) is an important member of the government of the planet Cinnabar. Adele Mundy, the librarian, has a thirst for knowledge and excels at obtaining information by whatever means. Adele is also a great shot with a pistol.

David Drake began the Lt. Leary series in 1998 with the novel With the Lightnings. The series is currently ongoing. Below is a list of David Drake’s Lt. Leary books in order of when they were first released (which is the same as their chronological order):

Get notified when David Drake releases a new book at

Publication Order of Lt. Leary / RCN Books

With the Lightnings(1998)Description / Buy at
Lt. Leary, Commanding(2000)Description / Buy at
The Far Side of the Stars(2003)Description / Buy at
The Way to Glory(2005)Description / Buy at
Some Golden Harbor(2006)Description / Buy at
When the Tide Rises(2008)Description / Buy at
In the Stormy Red Sky(2009)Description / Buy at
What Distant Deeps(2010)Description / Buy at
The Road of Danger(2012)Description / Buy at
The Sea Without a Shore(2014)Description / Buy at
Death's Bright Day(2016)Description / Buy at
Though Hell Should Bar the Way(2018)Description / Buy at
To Clear Away the Shadows(2019)Description / Buy at

If You Like Lt. Leary/RCN Books, You’ll Love…

Lt. Leary/RCN Synopsis: With the Lightnings by David Drake is the first book in the Lt. Leary series. Cinnabar Navy Lt. Daniel Leary is broke with no prospects. Adele Mundy is a scholar whose family was killed by the Cinnabar government. As war is about to hit planet Kostroma, Daniel and Adele and the ragtag crew they’ve assembled may not last long against a strike, but perhaps they’ll last long enough…

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Lt. Leary Books

Leave a Reply