Mrs. Bradley is the protagonist in a series of mystery novels by English novelist Gladys Mitchell. Beatrice LeStrange Bradley is a psychiatrist and medical doctor who uses her talents to help solve crimes across Britain.

Gladys Mitchell began her Mrs. Bradley series in 1929 with her debut novel, Speedy Death. The series lasted 66 novels, concluding in 1984 with The Crozier Pharaohs. Below is a list of Gladys Mitchell’s Mrs. Bradley books in order of when they were originally released (which is the same as their chronological order):

Publication Order of Mrs. Bradley Books

A Speedy Death(1929)Description / Buy at
The Mystery of a Butcher's Shop(1929)Description / Buy at
The Longer Bodies(1930)Description / Buy at
The Saltmarsh Murders(1932)Description / Buy at
Death at the Opera / Death in the Wet(1934)Description / Buy at
The Devil at Saxon Wall(1935)Description / Buy at
Dead Men's Morris(1936)Description / Buy at
Come Away, Death(1937)Description / Buy at
St Peter's Finger(1938)Description / Buy at
Printer's Error(1939)Description / Buy at
Brazen Tongue(1940)Description / Buy at
Hangman's Curfew(1941)Description / Buy at
When Last I Died(1941)Description / Buy at
Laurels Are Poison(1942)Description / Buy at
The Worsted Viper(1943)Description / Buy at
Sunset Over Soho(1943)Description / Buy at
My Father Sleeps(1944)Description / Buy at
The Rising of the Moon(1945)Description / Buy at
Here Comes a Chopper(1946)Description / Buy at
Death and the Maiden(1947)Description / Buy at
The Dancing Druids(1948)Description / Buy at
Tom Brown's Body(1949)Description / Buy at
Groaning Spinney / Murder in the Snow(1950)Description / Buy at
The Devil's Elbow(1951)Description / Buy at
The Echoing Strangers(1952)Description / Buy at
Merlin's Furlong(1953)Description / Buy at
Faintley Speaking(1954)Description / Buy at
Watson's Choice(1955)Description / Buy at
Twelve Horses and the Hangman's Noose(1956)Description / Buy at
The Twenty-Third Man(1957)Description / Buy at
Spotted Hemlock(1958)Description / Buy at
The Man Who Grew Tomatoes(1959)Description / Buy at
Say It with Flowers(1960)Description / Buy at
Nodding Canaries(1961)Description / Buy at
My Bones Will Keep(1962)Description / Buy at
Adders on the Heath(1963)Description / Buy at
Death of a Delft Blue(1964)Description / Buy at
Pageant of Murder(1965)Description / Buy at
The Croaking Raven(1966)Description / Buy at
Skeleton Island(1967)Description / Buy at
Three Quick and Five Dead(1968)Description / Buy at
Dance to Your Daddy(1969)Description / Buy at
Gory Dew(1970)Description / Buy at
Lament for Leto(1971)Description / Buy at
A Hearse on May-Day(1972)Description / Buy at
The Murder of Busy Lizzie(1973)Description / Buy at
A Javelin for Jonah(1974)Description / Buy at
Winking at the Brim(1974)Description / Buy at
Convent on Styx(1975)Description / Buy at
Late, Late in the Evening(1976)Description / Buy at
Noonday and Night(1977)Description / Buy at
Fault in the Structure(1977)Description / Buy at
Wraiths and Changelings(1978)Description / Buy at
Mingled with Venom(1978)Description / Buy at
Nest of Vipers(1979)Description / Buy at
The Mudflats of the Dead(1979)Description / Buy at
Uncoffin'd Clay(1980)Description / Buy at
The Whispering Knights(1980)Description / Buy at
The Death Cap Dancers(1981)Description / Buy at
Lovers, Make Moan(1981)Description / Buy at
Here Lies Gloria Mundy(1982)Description / Buy at
Death of a Burrowing Mole(1982)Description / Buy at
The Greenstone Griffins(1983)Description / Buy at
Cold, Lone, and Still(1983)Description / Buy at
No Winding-Sheet(1984)Description / Buy at
The Crozier Pharaohs(1984)Description / Buy at

Notes: Death at The Opera was published as Death in the Wet in the USA. Groaning Spinney was also published as Murder in the Snow.

If You Like Mrs. Bradley Books, You’ll Love…

Mrs. Bradley Synopses: The Mystery of a Butcher’s Shop is the second book in the Mrs. Bradley series by Gladys Mitchell. Mrs. Bradley finds herself tracking down a traveling skull, has an arrow shot at her, and locates a body, neatly butchered and hung up to cure, at the local butcher’s shop.

The Longer Bodies is the third book in the series. 90-year-old Great Aunt Puddequet has a unique method to determine which of her young nephews is to inherit her estate – her fortune goes to the one who best performs on her homemade olympic field. When the javelin turns up with blood on its point, it’s time for Mrs. Bradley to step in.

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Mrs. Bradley Books

Leave a Reply