The Plainsmen is a western fiction series by American novelist Terry C. Johnston. The series follows central character Seamus Donegan during the U.S. Army’s struggle with the Native Americans. The series starts in 1866, with the last several novels set in 1877.

Terry C. Johnston began his Plainsmen series in 1990 with Sioux Dawn: The Fetterman Massacre. The series lasted 16 novels, concluding with Turn the Stars Upside Down: The Last Days and Tragic Death of Crazy Horse, published in 2001. Below is a list of Terry C. Johnston’s Plainsmen books in order of when they were first published (which is also their chronological order):

Publication Order of Plainsmen Books

Sioux Dawn(1990)Description / Buy at
The Stalkers(1990)Description / Buy at
Red Cloud's Revenge(1990)Description / Buy at
Black Sun(1991)Description / Buy at
Devil's Backbone(1991)Description / Buy at
Shadow Riders(1991)Description / Buy at
Dying Thunder(1992)Description / Buy at
Blood Song(1993)Description / Buy at
Reap the Whirlwind(1994)Description / Buy at
Trumpet on the Land(1995)Description / Buy at
A Cold Day in Hell(1996)Description / Buy at
Wolf Mountain Moon(1997)Description / Buy at
Ashes of Heaven(1998)Description / Buy at
Cries from the Earth(1999)Description / Buy at
Lay the Mountains Low(2000)Description / Buy at
Turn the Stars Upside Down(2001)Description / Buy at

If You Like Plainsmen Books, You’ll Love…

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Plainsmen Books

Leave a Reply