Private is a series of thriller novels by American author James Patterson (and various co-authors). The series follows protagonist Jack Morgan, who runs an organization called Private – a detective agency that will get a job done with maximum force and discretion (even if they have to break a few rules in the process).

The Private series began in 2010 with the title novel. The series is currently ongoing. Below is a list of James Patterson’s Private novels in order of when they were originally published (which is also their chronological order):

Get notified when James Patterson releases a new book at

Publication Order of Private Books

Private(2010)Description / Buy at
Private London(2011)Description / Buy at
Private Games(2012)Description / Buy at
Private:#1 Suspect(2012)Description / Buy at
Private Berlin(2013)Description / Buy at
Private L.A.(2014)Description / Buy at
Private Down Under / Oz(2014)Description / Buy at
Private India(2014)Description / Buy at
Private Vegas(2015)Description / Buy at
Private Sydney / Missing(2015)Description / Buy at
Private Paris(2016)Description / Buy at
Private Rio / The Games(2016)Description / Buy at
Private Delhi / Count to Ten(2017)Description / Buy at
Princess(2018)Description / Buy at
Private Moscow(2020)Description / Buy at
Private Rogue / Private: Missing Persons(2021)Description / Buy at
Private Beijing(2022)Description / Buy at
Private Rome(2023)Description / Buy at
Private Monaco(2024)Description / Buy at
Note: James considers Private, Private: #1 Suspect, Private L.A., Private Vegas, Private Paris and The Games as the only books part of the main series.

Publication Order of Bookshots: Private Books

(By: James Patterson, Jassy Mackenzie, Rees Jones)

Notes: Private and Private: #1 Suspect were written with Maxine Paetro. Private London was co-authored by Mark Pearson. Private Games, Private Berlin, Private L.A., Private Paris and The Games are co-authored by Mark T. Sullivan. Private Down Under is co-authored by Michael White. Private India was written with Ashwin Sanghi. Private Vegas was written with Maxine Paetro. Private Sydney was written with Kathryn Fox.

If You Like Private/Jack Morgan Books, You’ll Love…

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Private/Jack Morgan Books

4 Responses to “Order of Private/Jack Morgan Books”

  1. Desiree: 4 years ago

    is Private Delhi the same as Count to Ten?


  2. Denise M George: 7 years ago

    Confused. I have seen and read Private Down Under.. but suddenly I noticed a another Private book. Private OZ…?? It is listed on but not here. Are they the same book?


    • Brandon: 7 years ago

      Same book. I don’t think it was ever published as Private Oz, though.


  3. Janet M: 8 years ago

    It was an interesting story line. I don’t recommend it to all. It is hard to follow sometimes as it was written mostly by Sanghi who is from India. Some of the word usage will send you to google or


Leave a Reply