Sharyn Howard by Joyce Jim Lavene
Sharyn Howard is the protagonist in a series of mystery novels by American authors Joyce & Jim Lavene. Set in the mountains of North Carolina – specifically in the town of Diamond Springs, where Sharyn Howard serves as town sheriff. Each installment in this series features two mysteries (one from the past and one from the present) that are somehow connected. Aside from the mysteries, the series also offers a look at Southern small town life.

Joyce and Jim Lavene began their Sharyn Howard series in 1999 with the novel Last Dance. The series lasted 12 novels, concluding in 2007 with the novel The First Last Be Last. Below is a list of Joyce and Jim Lavene’s Sharyn Howard books in order of when they were originally published (which is the same as their chronological order):

Get notified when Joyce Lavene releases a new book at

Publication Order of Sharyn Howard Mystery Books

Last Dance(1999)Description / Buy at
One Last Good-Bye(2000)Description / Buy at
The Last to Remember(2001)Description / Buy at
Until Our Last Embrace(2001)Description / Buy at
For the Last Time(2002)Description / Buy at
Dreams Don't Last(2002)Description / Buy at
Last Fires Burning(2003)Description / Buy at
Glory's Last Victim(2003)Description / Buy at
Last Rites(2004)Description / Buy at
Last One Down(2004)Description / Buy at
Before The Last Lap(2005)Description / Buy at
The First Shall Be Last(2007)Description / Buy at

If You Like Sharyn Howard Books, You’ll Love…

Sharyn Howard Synopsis: One Last Good-Bye is the second novel in the Sharyn Howard series by Joyce and Jim Lavene. Diamond Springs Sheriff Sharyn Howard’s job isn’t getting any easier. The county is looking to cut back on hert staff. Colonel John Metzger wants his brother’s killer behind bars already. And the Navy wants to be sure she comes up with the “right” answers to the town’s new mystery. She’s also got to deal with a deputy who is lovesick and last but not least, her mother is dating Senator Caison Talbot – someone Sharyn’s not exactly a fan of. But the talk of the town is a case from WWII. Someone shot WWII Navy Captain Billy Bost as he dipped his plane’s wings to his sweetheart. The case has gone unsolved for decades. Is it possible that the person who killed Billy Bost, Diamond Springs’ most famous hero, is also the same person who killed the Pulitzer prize-winning author looking for the truth?

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Sharyn Howard Books

Leave a Reply