Shirley McClintock by BJ Oliphant Sheri S Tepper
Shirley McClintock is the protagonist in a series of mystery novels by American novelist B.J. Oliphant (Sheri S. Tepper). Shirley McClintock is a rancher in her fifties, living in Colorado. While performing her ranching duties, she finds herself becoming an amateur sleuth…

B.J. Oliphant began the Shirley McClintock series in 1990 with the novel Dead in the Scrub. The series lasted 7 books until the 1997 novel Here’s to the Newly Dead in 1997. Below is a list of B.J. Oliphant’s Shirley McClintock books in order of when they were originally released (which is the same as their chronological order):

Get notified when B.J. Oliphant releases a new book at

Publication Order of Shirley McClintock Books

Dead in the Scrub(1990)Description / Buy at
The Unexpected Corpse(1990)Description / Buy at
Deservedly Dead(1992)Description / Buy at
Death and the Delinquent(1992)Description / Buy at
Death Served Up Cold(1994)Description / Buy at
A Ceremonial Death(1995)Description / Buy at
Here's to the Newly Dead(1997)Description / Buy at

If You Like Shirley McClintock Books, You’ll Love…

Shirley McClintock Synopsis: Dead in the Scrub by B.J. Oliphant introduces readers to rancher/sleuth Shirley McClintock. Struggling to put a wounded deer out of its misery, intrepid rancher Shirley McClintock happens upon a human skeleton half-buried in fallen leaves. Then she discovers a second murder, accomplished with the same arrow that had pierced the body of the deer. The crimes are apparently unrelated, but McClintock catches the same rotten stench in both. Only proof is lacking, but that, when she finds it, cannot be used. Not without putting the person nearest her heart into mortal danger.

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Shirley McClintock Books

Leave a Reply