The Wardstone Chronicles is a series of dark fantasy novels by English author Joseph Delaney. Interestingly, in North America, the series is known as The Last Apprentice and each book has a different title and cover. The central character in the series is Tom Ward, who is being apprenticed to become a “Spook.” However, he soon realizes that all of the previous apprentices have failed or even died in the process. The series has been optioned for film by Warner Bros.

The Wardstone Chronicles began in 2004 with the novel The Spook’s Apprentice (aka Revenge of the Witch). The series ended after the 13th novel in the series, The Spook’s Revenge (aka Fury of the Seventh Son). Below is a list of Joseph Delaney’s Wardstone Chronicles books and Spook’s Stories spin-offs in order of when they were originally released (which is also their chronological order):

Get notified when Joseph Delaney releases a new book at

Publication Order of The Last Apprentice / Wardstone Chronicles Books

The Spook's Apprentice / Revenge of the Witch(2004)Description / Buy at
The Spook's Curse / Curse of the Bane(2005)Description / Buy at
The Spook's Secret / Night of the Soul Stealer(2007)Description / Buy at
The Spook's Battle / Attack of the Fiend(2007)Description / Buy at
The Spook's Mistake / Wrath of the Bloodeye(2008)Description / Buy at
The Spook's Sacrifice / Clash of the Demons(2008)Description / Buy at
The Spook's Nightmare / Rise of the Huntress(2010)Description / Buy at
Grimalkin's Tale(2011)Description / Buy at
The Spook's Destiny / Rage of the Fallen(2011)Description / Buy at
I Am Grimalkin / Grimalkin, the Witch Assassin(2011)Description / Buy at
Alice and the Brain Guzzler(2011)Description / Buy at
The Spook's Blood / The Last Apprentice(2012)Description / Buy at
Slither's Tale / Slither(2012)Description / Buy at
I Am Alice / Spook's: Alice(2013)Description / Buy at
The Spook’s Revenge / Fury of the Seventh Son(2013)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Spook’s Stories Books

The Spook's Tale: And Other Horrors(2009)Description / Buy at
Witches / A Coven of Witches(2009)Description / Buy at
The Spook's Bestiary: The Guide to Creatures of the Dark(2010)Description / Buy at
The Seventh Apprentice(2014)Description / Buy at

Notes: Mercer’s Whore was written under the pen name of J.K. Haderack.

The Spook’s Apprentice is also titled Revenge of the Witch. The Spook’s Curse is also titled Curse of the Bane. The Spook’s Secret is also known as Night of the Soul Stealer. The Spook’s Battle was also published as Attack of the Fiend. The Spook’s Mistake is also titled Wrath of the Bloodeye. The Spook’s Sacrifice is alternately titled Clash of the Demons. The Spook’s Nightmare was also published as Rise of the Huntress. The Spook’s Destiny is also titled Rage of the Fallen. I Am Grimalkin is also known as Grimalkin, The Witch Assassin. Spook’s Blood is also known as Lure of the Dead. Witches is also known as A Coven of Witches. Slither was also published as Slither’s Tale. The Spook’s Revenge was also published as Fury of the Seventh Son.

If You Like The Wardstone Chronicles Books, You’ll Love…

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Wardstone Chronicles/Last Apprentice Books

Leave a Reply