Alafair Burke is an American author of mystery/suspense crime fiction as well as a professor of law and legal commentator. She is the daughter of popular mystery novelist James Lee Burke. She is known for being able to write likable female characters such as Samantha Kincaid and Ellie Hatcher. She often uses real-life cases as inspirations to her novels.

Alafair’s father, James Lee Burke, has said that Alafair has been writing mysteries since before he started his Dave Robicheaux series. While those aren’t published, here is a list of Alafair Burke’s published fictional works in order of when they were originally published:

Get notified when Alafair Burke releases a new book at

Publication Order of Samantha Kincaid Books

Publication Order of Ellie Hatcher Books

Dead Connection (2007)Description / Buy at
Angel's Tip (2008)Description / Buy at
212 (2010)Description / Buy at
Never Tell (2012)Description / Buy at
All Day and a Night (2014)Description / Buy at
Find Me / The Girl She Was (2022)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Under Suspicion Books

(with Mary Higgins Clark)

I've Got You Under My Skin (2014)Description / Buy at
The Cinderella Murder (2014)Description / Buy at
All Dressed in White (2015)Description / Buy at
The Sleeping Beauty Killer (2016)Description / Buy at
Every Breath You Take (2017)Description / Buy at
You Don't Own Me (2018)Description / Buy at
Piece of My Heart (2020)Description / Buy at
It Had to Be You (2024)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Where Are The Children Books

Where are the Children? (By: Mary Higgins Clark) (1975)Description / Buy at
Where Are the Children Now? (With: Mary Higgins Clark) (2023)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Publication Order of Anthologies

The Blue Religion(2008)Description / Buy at
The Best American Mystery Stories 2009(2009)Description / Buy at
Vengeance(2012)Description / Buy at
Inherit the Dead(2013)Description / Buy at
Suspense Magazine June 2013(2013)Description / Buy at
When a Stranger Comes to Town(2021)Description / Buy at
Best American Mystery and Suspense 2021(2021)Description / Buy at

Notes: Angel’s Tip is also known as City of Fear in the United Kingdom. 212 is known as City of Lies in the UK. The Under Suspicion series is written with Mary Higgins Clark.

If You Like Alafair Burke Books, You’ll Love…

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Alafair Burke Books

Leave a Reply