Anton Gill Oliver Bowden
Anton Gill is a British author of historical fiction and non-fiction. He writes as Anton Gill, Antony Cutler, Ray Evans and Oliver Bowden. He specializes in contemporary European history, but has also written a series of Egyptian mysteries featuring Huy the Scribe. Anton has also written a series of novels based on the video game Assassin’s Creed (as Oliver Bowden). Some of his other work includes biographies on William Dampier and Peggy Guggenheim. Anton is married to actress Marji Campi. He splits his time between London and Paris.

Anton Gill became a published author since 1984. His first non-fiction book was Martin Allen is Missing, about the disappearance of a 15 year-old London boy. Anton’s first novel was City of the Horizon, which was published in 1991 and began his Huy the Scribe Egyptian mystery series. Below is a list of Anton Gill’s books in order of when they were originally published:

Get notified when Anton Gill releases a new book at

Publication Order of Huy the Scribe Egyptian Mystery Books

City of the Horizon (1991)Description / Buy at
City of Dreams (1993)Description / Buy at
City of the Dead (1993)Description / Buy at
City of Lies (1994)Description / Buy at
City of Desire (1998)Description / Buy at
City of the Sea (1999)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Assassin's Creed Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Hanging Gale (1995)Description / Buy at
The Sacred Scroll (2012)Description / Buy at
City of Gold (2013)Description / Buy at
Into Darkness (2014)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Martin Allen Is Missing (1984)Description / Buy at
Mad About the Boy: The Life and Times of Boy George and Culture Club (1984)Description / Buy at
How to Be Oxbridge (1985)Description / Buy at
Croquet (1988)Description / Buy at
The Journey Back from Hell: An Oral History - Conversations with Concentration Camp Survivors (1988)Description / Buy at
Berlin to Bucharest (1990)Description / Buy at
A Dance Between the Flames (1993)Description / Buy at
The Great Escape (1994)Description / Buy at
An Honourable Defeat: A History of German Resistance to Hitler, 1933-1945 (1994)Description / Buy at
Ruling Passions (1995)Description / Buy at
The Devil's Mariner: A Life of William Dampier, Pirate and Explorer, 1651-1715 (1997)Description / Buy at
Last Talons of the Eagle: Secret Nazi Technology Which Could Have Changed the Course of World War II (1998)Description / Buy at
Extinct (2001)Description / Buy at
Art Lover (2001)Description / Buy at
Il Gigante (2002)Description / Buy at
Ancient Egyptians: The Kingdom of the Pharaohs Brought to Life (2003)Description / Buy at
Trace Your Family History Back to the Tudors (2006)Description / Buy at
Empire's Children (2006)Description / Buy at
Gateway of the Gods (2008)Description / Buy at
We Built the Titanic / Titanic: Building the World's Most Famous Ship (2010)Description / Buy at
David Stirling (2015)Description / Buy at

Notes: The Hanging Gale was written as Ray Evans. Last Talons of the Eagle was co-authored with Gary Hyland. Extinct was written with Alex West. We Built the Titanic was re-published as Titanic. Peggy Guggenheim was also published as Art Lover.

If You Like Anton Gill Books, You’ll Love…

Anton Gill Synopsis: City of the Horizon is the first Huy the Scribe historical mystery by Anton Gill. The novel is set during the 18th Dynasty in Egypt. The reformist pharaoh, Akhenaten, is dead and his successor is Tutankhamun. Tutankhamun is being manipulated by politicians who don’t see eye-to-eye with Akhenaten’s supporters. Most of the old guard are now dead. Huy, a scribe of Akhenaten’s, is slightly more fortunate; only losing his home and ability to work. Instead, Huy becomes a “troubleshooter” – essentially a private investigator. His first case involves the Egyptian priesthood and a gang of tomb robbers.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Anton Gill Books

Leave a Reply