Cliff McNish is an English author of YA and children’s fantasy novels. He grew up in Sunderland, England, spending lots of time in the woods and coming home all scratched up. He fell in love with reading after he was given the Narnia novel The Magician’s Nephew by his English teacher. Cliff became an author when he was writing short stories for his daughter, and the idea kept growing until it became The Doomspell.

Cliff McNish made his debut as a novelist in 2000 with The Doomspell. Below is a list of Cliff McNish’s books in order of when they were originally released:

Get notified when Cliff McNish releases a new book at

Publication Order of Doomspell Books

The Doomspell (2000)Description / Buy at
The Scent of Magic (2001)Description / Buy at
The Wizard's Promise (2002)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Silver Sequence Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

If You Like Cliff McNish Books, You’ll Love…

Cliff McNish Synopses: Angel is a standalone YA novel by Cliff McNish. Two girls are inextricably linked by destiny. Stephanie is called strange and a misfit, and has no friends. Freya can’t stop seeing angels. But when one of those angels begins to stalk her, its shadow following her everywhere, Freya must make decisions from which there is no turning back.

The Hunting Ground is a standalone novel by Cliff McNish. When Elliott and his brother, Ben, move into old and crumbling Glebe House they don’t anticipate having roommates – in the form of resident ghosts But soon sinister events are unfolding. An old diary reveals glimpses of the mansion’s past – and of a terrible tragedy. A mysterious woman talks to the dead. And evil lurks in the East Wing – a hideous labyrinth of passageways devised by a truly twisted mind. Can Elliott and his family escape the clutches of Glebe House? Or will they be trapped in the maze of corridors, forever hunted by the dead?

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Cliff McNish Books

Leave a Reply