Francis Spufford is an English author of non-fiction and historical fiction books. He studied English at Cambridge University. Francis began writing non-fiction, but has always been a storyteller. his next step was polar literature, and then mixing fiction and history with Red Plenty. Finally, he made a full arrival at fiction with Golden Hill in 2016. Francis was a Royal Literary Fund fellow at Anglia Ruskin University from 2005 to 2007, and has taught at Goldsmiths College in London on the M.A. in Creative and Life Writing since 2008.

Francis Spufford’s first book to be published was the anthology The Chatto Book of Cabbages and Kings in 1989. Below is a list of Francis Spufford’s books in order of when they were first released:

Get notified when Francis Spufford releases a new book at

Publication Order of Old New York Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

True Stories and Other Essays (2019)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Cultural Babbage (1996)Description / Buy at
I May Be Some Time: The Story Behind the Antarctic Tragedy of Captain Scott (1996)Description / Buy at
The Child that Books Built (2002)Description / Buy at
Backroom Boys (2003)Description / Buy at
Red Plenty (2007)Description / Buy at
Unapologetic (2012)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

The Chatto Book of Cabbages and Kings(1989)Description / Buy at
The Devil(1992)Description / Buy at
Ice: Stories of Survival from Polar Exploration(1999)Description / Buy at
The Antarctic(2007)Description / Buy at

If You Like Francis Spufford Books, You’ll Love…

Francis Spufford Synopsis: The Child That Books Built is a non-fiction book by Francis Spufford. Children’s books – from Narnia to The Hobbit – are celebrated in this enlightened examination of the joys of childhood reading. Fairy tales and Where the Wild Things Are, The Lord of the Rings and the Narnia books, Little House on the Prairie and The Earthsea Trilogy. What would you find if you went back and experienced your favourite books from childhood all over again? Francis Spufford discovers both delight and sadness, in this widely celebrated memoir of a boy who retreats into books, faced with a tragedy in his family.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Francis Spufford Books

Leave a Reply