John Katzenbach
John Katzenbach is an American author of psychological thriller novels. He is the author of such novels as In the Heat of Summer, Just Cause and Hart’s War – all of which were made into major motion pictures. Before becoming an author, Katzenbach worked as a court reporter for the Miami Herald and the Miami News. He is the son of former U.S. Attorney General Nicholas Katzenbach (under Lyndon B. Johnson). John lives in Massachusetts with his wife, journalist Madeleine Blais.

John Katzenbach became a published novelist in 1982 with the novel In the Heat of Summer. The novel was nominated for an Edgar Award for Best First Novel. Below is a list of John Katzenbach’s books in order of when they were first published:

Get notified when John Katzenbach releases a new book at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

In the Heat of the Summer (1982)Description / Buy at
The Traveler (1987)Description / Buy at
Day of Reckoning (1989)Description / Buy at
Just Cause (1992)Description / Buy at
The Shadow Man (1995)Description / Buy at
State of Mind (1997)Description / Buy at
Hart's War (1999)Description / Buy at
The Analyst (2002)Description / Buy at
The Madman's Tale (2004)Description / Buy at
The Wrong Man (2006)Description / Buy at
Red 1-2-3 (2012)Description / Buy at
What Comes Next (2012)Description / Buy at
The Dead Student (2015)Description / Buy at
Jack’s Boys (2024)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

First Born: The Death of Arnold Zeleznik, Age Nine (1984)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Natural Suspect(2001)Description / Buy at

Notes: In the Heat of the Summer is also known as The Mean Season. Natural Suspect is a collaborative novel that also has contributions by William Bernhardt, Leslie Glass, Gini Hartzmark, John Lescroart, Bonnie MacDougal, Phillip Margolin, Brad Meltzer, Michael Palmer, Lisa Scottoline and Laurence Shames.

If You Like John Katzenbach Books, You’ll Love…

John Katzenbach Synopsis: In Just Cause by John Katzenbach, Matt Cowart doesn’t believe Robert Earl Ferguson is innocent at first. After all, he’s on Death Row. But the more Cowart investigates, the more he isn’t so sure. He begins to think that Ferguson, a black man, has been a victim of racism and the wrong man is set to be executed. The novel was adapted into a film starring Sean Connery and Laurence Fishburne.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of John Katzenbach Books

Leave a Reply