Jon Talton is an American author of mystery novels. He writes the David Mapstone series. Jon has been called one of the most “extremely talented but under-recognized” authors of the country by Don Winslow. Aside from being a novelist, he is also a long-time journalist, covering business and finance, urban economies, energy, real estate and economics, and public policy. His columns have appeared in newspapers across the continent. Jon has also made regular appearances on CNBC.

Jon Talton made his debut as a published novelist in 2001 with the novel Concrete Desert. Below is a list of Jon Talton’s books in order of when they were first released:

Get notified when Jon Talton releases a new book at

Publication Order of David Mapstone Mystery Books

Concrete Desert (2001)Description / Buy at
Camelback Falls (2003)Description / Buy at
Dry Heat (2004)Description / Buy at
Arizona Dreams (2006)Description / Buy at
Cactus Heart (2007)Description / Buy at
South Phoenix Rules (2010)Description / Buy at
The Night Detectives (2013)Description / Buy at
High Country Nocturne (2015)Description / Buy at
The Bomb Shelter (2018)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Cincinnati Casebook Books

The Pain Nurse (2009)Description / Buy at
Powers of Arrest (2012)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Deadline Man (2010)Description / Buy at
City of Dark Corners (2021)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

A Brief History of Phoenix (2015)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Phoenix Noir Books

The Nurse Murders (2023)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

If You Like Jon Talton Books, You’ll Love…

Jon Talton Synopsis: Deadline Man is a standalone title by Jon Talton. He’s a man whose life is so intertwined with his job that we know him only as “the columnist.” He writes for a newspaper in Seattle, isn’t afraid to stir up trouble, and keeps his life – including his multiple lovers and his past—in safe compartments. But it’s all about to be violently upended when he goes out on what seems like the most mundane of assignments, looking into a staid company that “never makes news.” The moment one of his sources takes a dive off a downtown skyscraper, the columnist is plunged into a harrowing maze of murder, intrigue, and secrets that powerful forces intend to keep hidden at all costs. All he has to go on is a corporate world where nothing is as it seems, increasingly menacing encounters with mysterious federal agents, and the unsettling meme “eleven/eleven.” Meanwhile, the paper itself is dying. So the columnist joins with an aggressive young reporter to see if one explosive story can save a newspaper. Soon they’re running to make the deadline of their lives….

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Jon Talton Books

Leave a Reply