MR Hall
M.R. Hall is a British author of mystery novels as well as a screenwriter. He writes the Coroner Jenny Cooper series. He attended Hereford Cathedral School and graduated from Worcester College, Oxford with a law degree. He practiced law before he switched to a writing career in 1995. His screenwriting credits include Kavanagh QC, Dalziel and Pascoe, The Scarlet Pimpernel, Life Support, Holby City, Foyle’s War and Blue Murder, as well as creator credits on Wing and a Prayer and New Street Law. Hall lives in South Wales.

M.R. Hall became a published novelist in 2009 with the novel The Coroner. Below is a list of M.R. Hall’s books in order of when they were first released:

Get notified when M.R. Hall releases a new book at

Publication Order of Jenny Cooper Books

The Coroner (2009)Description / Buy at
The Disappeared (2009)Description / Buy at
The Redeemed (2011)Description / Buy at
The Flight (2012)Description / Buy at
The Innocent (2012)Description / Buy at
The Chosen Dead (2013)Description / Buy at
The Burning (2014)Description / Buy at
A Life to Kill / The Last Post (2016)Description / Buy at
Chronological note: The Innocent is a prequel to the series.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Black Art of Killing (2020)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Writing Crime Fiction: An introduction: A 60-Minute Masterclass (With: William Ryan) (2015)Description / Buy at

If You Like M.R. Hall Books, You’ll Love…

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of M.R. Hall Books

One Response to “Order of M.R. Hall Books”

  1. Carolyn Cartledge: 2 years ago

    I have read a lot of the Jenny Cooper Coroner books which I enjoyed immensely. The plots and characters are brilliant. However I am amazed that it has been made into an American tv series.
    I have watched the fielder episode and I found it very interesting but how come it wasn’t made I t a British drama set in Bristol and Wales?


Leave a Reply