RD Wingfield
Rodney David Wingfield (1928-2007) was an English author and playwright, who was best known for his Detective Inspector Jack Frost crime fiction series. R.D. Wingfield was born in Hackney, Greater London and went to Coopers’ Company School. During World War II, he was evacuated to Frome, Somerset. Her worked in the East End in London and then started working for Petrofina. After writing three radioplays for the BBC, he quit his job in order to become a full-time writer.

R.D. Wingfield became a published novelist in 1984 with the novel Frost at Christmas. He would go on to write six novels in total, all of which featured Inspector Jack Frost. His final novel was A Killing Frost, published in 2008, the year after his death from cancer. Below is a list of R.D. Wingfield’s books in order of when they were originally published:

Publication Order of DI Jack Frost Books

Frost at Christmas (1986)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
A Touch of Frost (1987)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Night Frost (1992)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Hard Frost (1992)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Winter Frost (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
A Killing Frost (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

If You Like R.D. Wingfield Books, You’ll Love…

R.D. Wingfield Synopsis: Frost at Christmas is the first book in the Detective Inspector Jack Frost series by R.D. Wingfield. It’s ten days before Christmas and Tracey Uphill has yet to come home from Sunday school. Her desperate mother, a young prostitute, turns to Detective Inspector Jack Frost. To help him find the child, he is assigned the Chief Constable’s nephew as a sidekick. Detective Constable Clive Barnard is often the target of Frost’s withering satire. Frost always has some tasteless anecdote to hit Barnard with at every opportunity. After consulting with a witch from the area, he is able to find a skeleton and now he is drawn into a cold case that risks his career as well as his life.

Shop Worldwide: Amazon.com | Amazon.co.uk | Amazon.ca

Order of Books » Authors » Order of R.D. Wingfield Books

Leave a Reply