Sabaa Tahir
Sabaa Tahir is an English-American author of YA fantasy novels. She writes the Ember in the Ashes series. Sabaa Tahir grew up in the Mojave Desert, at her family’s 18-room motel. There, she spent her time reading tons of fantasy novels, raiding her brother’s comic book collection, and playing guitar poorly. She began writing An Ember in the Ashes while working nights as a newspaper editor. She likes thunderous indie rock, garish socks, and anything nerdy. Sabaa currently lives in the San Francisco Bay Area with her family.

Sabaa Tahir made her debut in 2015 with the novel An Ember in the Ashes. Below is a list of Sabaa Tahir’s books in order of when they were originally published:

Get notified when Sabaa Tahir releases a new book at

Publication Order of An Ember in the Ashes Books

An Ember in the Ashes (2015)Description / Buy at
A Torch Against the Night (2016)Description / Buy at
A Reaper at the Gates (2018)Description / Buy at
A ​Sky Beyond the Storm (2020)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of An Ember in the Ashes Graphic Novel Prequel Books

A Thief Among the Trees (2020)Description / Buy at
A Spark Within the Forge (2022)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Publication Order of Anthologies

Star Wars: From a Certain Point of View(2017)Description / Buy at
Three Sides of a Heart(2017)Description / Buy at
How I Resist(2018)Description / Buy at
Magic Has No Borders(2023)Description / Buy at

Note: Star Wars: From a Certain Point of View also has stories by Renée Ahdieh, Meg Cabot, John Jackson Miller and Nnedi Okorafor.

If You Like Sabaa Tahir Books, You’ll Love…

Sabaa Tahir Synopsis: An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir is the first book in the Ember in the Ashes series. Laia is a slave. Elias is a soldier. Neither is free. Under the Martial Empire, defiance is met with death. Those who do not vow their blood and bodies to the Emperor risk the execution of their loved ones and the destruction of all they hold dear. It is in this brutal world, inspired by ancient Rome, that Laia lives with her grandparents and older brother. The family ekes out an existence in the Empire’s impoverished backstreets. They do not challenge the Empire. They’ve seen what happens to those who do. But when Laia’s brother is arrested for treason, Laia is forced to make a decision. In exchange for help from rebels who promise to rescue her brother, she will risk her life to spy for them from within the Empire’s greatest military academy. There, Laia meets Elias, the school’s finest soldier – and secretly, its most unwilling. Elias wants only to be free of the tyranny he’s being trained to enforce. He and Laia will soon realize that their destinies are intertwined—and that their choices will change the fate of the Empire itself.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Sabaa Tahir Books

Leave a Reply