Susan Wittig Albert is an American author of mystery novels, usually in the cozy sub-genre. Susan is the author of multiple series, include China Bayles herbal mysteries series, the Cottage Tales of Beatrix Potter, the Robin Paige Victorian Mysteries and the Darling Dahlias series. She has also written under the pen names Carolyn Keene (for Nancy Drew books) and as Robin Paige (for the Sir Charles Sheridan series).

Susan Wittig Albert became a published novelist with her debut novel Thyme of Death in 1992. Below is a list of Susan Wittig Albert’s books in order of when they were originally released:

Get notified when Susan Wittig Albert releases a new book at

Publication Order of China Bayles Books

Thyme of Death (1992)Description / Buy at
Witches' Bane (1993)Description / Buy at
Hangman's Root (1994)Description / Buy at
Rosemary Remembered (1995)Description / Buy at
Rueful Death (1996)Description / Buy at
Love Lies Bleeding (1997)Description / Buy at
Chile Death (1998)Description / Buy at
Lavender Lies (1999)Description / Buy at
Mistletoe Man (2000)Description / Buy at
Bloodroot (2001)Description / Buy at
Indigo Dying (2003)Description / Buy at
Dilly of a Death (2004)Description / Buy at
Dead Man's Bones (2005)Description / Buy at
Bleeding Hearts (2006)Description / Buy at
Spanish Dagger (2007)Description / Buy at
Nightshade (2008)Description / Buy at
Wormwood (2009)Description / Buy at
Holly Blues (2010)Description / Buy at
Mourning Gloria (2011)Description / Buy at
Cat's Claw (2012)Description / Buy at
Widow's Tears (2013)Description / Buy at
Death Come Quickly (2014)Description / Buy at
Bittersweet (2015)Description / Buy at
Blood Orange (2016)Description / Buy at
The Last Chance Olive Ranch (2017)Description / Buy at
Queen Anne's Lace (2018)Description / Buy at
A Plain Vanilla Murder (2019)Description / Buy at
Hemlock (2021)Description / Buy at
Forget Me Never (2024)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of China Bayles Collections

An Unthymely Death and Other Garden Mysteries (2003)Description / Buy at
China Bayles' Book of Days (2006)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of The Cottage Tales of Beatrix Potter Books

The Tale of Hill Top Farm (2004)Description / Buy at
The Tale of Holly How (2005)Description / Buy at
The Tale of Cuckoo Brow Wood (2007)Description / Buy at
The Tale of Hawthorn House (2007)Description / Buy at
The Tale of Briar Bank (2008)Description / Buy at
The Tale of Applebeck Orchard (2009)Description / Buy at
The Tale of Oat Cake Crag (2010)Description / Buy at
The Tale of Castle Cottage (2011)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Crystal Cave Books

Publication Order of The Darling Dahlias Books

The Darling Dahlias and the Cucumber Tree (2010)Description / Buy at
The Darling Dahlias and the Naked Ladies (2011)Description / Buy at
The Darling Dahlias and the Confederate Rose (2012)Description / Buy at
The Darling Dahlias and the Texas Star (2013)Description / Buy at
The Darling Dahlias and the Silver Dollar Bush (2014)Description / Buy at
The Darling Dahlias and the Eleven O'Clock Lady (2015)Description / Buy at
The Darling Dahlias and the Unlucky Clover (2018)Description / Buy at
The Darling Dahlias and the Poinsettia Puzzle (2018)Description / Buy at
The Darling Dahlias And The Voodoo Lily (2020)Description / Buy at
The Darling Dahlias and the Red Hot Poker (2022)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Victorian Mysteries Books

(as Robin Paige)

Death at Bishop's Keep (1994)Description / Buy at
Death at Gallows Green (1995)Description / Buy at
Death at Daisy's Folly (1997)Description / Buy at
Death at Devil's Bridge (1998)Description / Buy at
Death at Rottingdean (1999)Description / Buy at
Death at Whitechapel (2000)Description / Buy at
Death at Epsom Downs (2001)Description / Buy at
Death at Dartmoor (2002)Description / Buy at
Death at Glamis Castle (2003)Description / Buy at
Death in Hyde Park (2004)Description / Buy at
Death at Blenheim Palace (2005)Description / Buy at
Death on the Lizard (2006)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

A Wilder Rose (2013)Description / Buy at
Loving Eleanor (2016)Description / Buy at
The General's Women (2017)Description / Buy at
Someone Always Nearby (2023)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Work Of Her Own (1992)Description / Buy at
World Literature (1993)Description / Buy at
Writing from Life (1997)Description / Buy at
With Courage and Common Sense (2003)Description / Buy at
What Wildness Is This: Women Write about the Southwest (2007)Description / Buy at
Together, Alone: A Memoir of Marriage and Place (2009)Description / Buy at
An Extraordinary Year of Ordinary Days (2010)Description / Buy at
Starting Points (2014)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Country Living Gardener February 2001(2001)Description / Buy at

Note: The Charles Sheridan series is written alongside Bill Albert under the shared pseudonym of Robin Paige.

If You Like Susan Wittig Albert Books, You’ll Love…

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Susan Wittig Albert Books

One Response to “Order of Susan Wittig Albert Books”

  1. Teri Chesser: 1 month ago

    Susan Wittig Albert is one of my favorite authors. I just discovered her “Darling Dahlias” series, and I’ve read 5 of them so far, just starting the 6th. She takes us back to the early 30s, when life was simple and yet hard, when banks were failing and folks were struggling after the Great Depression. This small, sweet Southern Alabama town is filled with characters who take care of each other, especially a garden club of ladies called the Darling Dahlias, who are especially interwoven and care deeply about each other, who are brilliant and thrifty, and do what they can for each other and their community. There’s something sweet and comforting about this series, and I can’t wait to read the next book. It reminds me of my own small Louisiana town and yet brings me to a time when folks sat on the porch and everybody knew everybody else. Besides all this, the stories are quirky and crafty, and brilliant at the same time, as the Dahlias solve mysteries and save their beloved Darling, Alabama. Give this series a try if you’re looking for something to dive into this summer!


Leave a Reply