Tracy Letts is an American playwright and screenwriter. He is best known his his Pulitzer Prize for Drama and the Tony Award-winning play, August: Osage County.

In addition to his work as a playwright, Letts has also acted extensively. He portrayed Andrew Lockhart in seasons 3 and 4 of Showtime’s Homeland. He has since appeared in movies like Lady Bird, The Post, and Ford v Ferrari. To date, Letts has had three of his plays adapted for film. They are Bug, Killer Joe, and August: Osage County. He wrote the screenplay for all three. Letts also worked as a screenwriter in adapting the book, The Woman in the Window by A.J. Finn.

Get notified when Tracy Letts releases a new book at

Publication Order of Plays

If You Like Tracy Letts Books, You’ll Love…

Bug: A Play takes place in a seedy motel in Oklahoma City. A drug-addled cocktail waitress named Agnes is hiding from her ex-con ex-husband. Here she is introduces to Peter, a drifter, by her lesbian biker friend. The two begin a friendship that takes place in Agnes’ hotel room. As Peter shares with her his thoughts and delusions, she is infected by them as well. This play is Letts’s unique tale of love, paranoia, and government conspiracy.

A popular play by Letts is the 2008 Pulitzer Prize for Drama winner, August: Osage County. The play is a portrait of a dysfunctional American family at their best and worst. The patriarch of the Weston Clan disappears one summer night and the family reunites. At the reunion, long-hold secrets are revealed in unflinching and uproarious ways. The three-act play features three generations of unfulfilled dreams and thirteen characters.

The Minutes by Tracy Letts was a finalist for the 2018 Pulitzer Prize for Drama. The play by Letts takes place at a back-and-forth city council board meeting. However, beneath the talk is the small of something sinister.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Tracy Letts Books

Leave a Reply