Ancient Rome Mysteries by Paul Doherty
The Ancient Rome Mysteries is a series of historical mystery novels by English novelist Paul Doherty. The series follows Claudia, who is a spy working for Empress Helena (the mother of the Emperor). The books are set during the reign of Constantine the Great at a time when Christianity was first being brought to Rome.

Paul Doherty began his Ancient Rome Mysteries series in 2003 with the novel Murder Imperial. The series concluded in 2008 with the novel Murder’s Immortal Mask, which was published in 2008. It is recommended that you read the Ancient Rome Mysteries series in order. The series is alternatively referred to as the Ancient Roman Mysteries. Below is a list of Paul Doherty’s Ancient Rome Mysteries books in order of when they were first published (which is also their chronological order):

Get notified when Paul Doherty releases a new book at

Publication Order of Ancient Rome Books

Murder Imperial(2003)Description / Buy at
The Song of the Gladiator(2004)Description / Buy at
The Queen of the Night(2006)Description / Buy at
Murder's Immortal Mask(2008)Description / Buy at

If You Like Ancient Rome Mysteries Books, You’ll Love…

Ancient Rome Mysteries Synopsis: In Murder Imperial by Paul Doherty (the first Ancient Rome Mystery), it is 313 AD and Rome seems to be finally rising above some turbulence. Constantine is looking to gain more control by establishing the Christian church in Rome, but his motives are questioned when three courtesans are found dead. The bodies all have crossed scratched into their forehead and cheeks. Constantine’s mother Helena asks her spy, Claudia, to investigate in order to clear her son’s name and protect his future. Claudia is disguised as a wine serve in Constantine’s house, as she is the niece of the tavern owner. But Claudia has her own motives for doing the job…

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Ancient Rome Mysteries Books

Leave a Reply