Chief Inspector Woodend by Sally Spencer
Chief Inspector Woodend is the protagonist in a series of mystery novels by English author Sally Spencer (Alan Rustage). Charlie Woodend is a detective chief inspector for Scotland Yard. His specialty is his expertise on the North of England.

Sally Spencer began the Chief Inspector Woodend series in 1998 with the novel The Salton Killings. The series lasted 20 novels, concluding in 2008 with Fatal Quest (which is actually Inspector Woodend’s first case chronologically). The series spins off into the DCI Monika Paniatowski series. Below is a list of Sally Spencer’s Chief Inspector Woodend books in order of when they were originally published (as well as in chronological order):

Get notified when Sally Spencer releases a new book at

Publication Order of Chief Inspector Woodend Books

The Salton Killings(1998)Description / Buy at
Murder at Swann's Lake(1999)Description / Buy at
Death of a Cave Dweller(2000)Description / Buy at
The Dark Lady(2001)Description / Buy at
The Golden Mile to Murder(2001)Description / Buy at
Dead on Cue(2002)Description / Buy at
The Red Herring(2002)Description / Buy at
Death of an Innocent(2002)Description / Buy at
A Death Left Hanging(2003)Description / Buy at
The Enemy Within(2003)Description / Buy at
The Witch Maker(2004)Description / Buy at
The Butcher Beyond(2004)Description / Buy at
Dying in the Dark(2005)Description / Buy at
Stone Killer(2005)Description / Buy at
A Long Time Dead(2006)Description / Buy at
Sins of the Fathers(2006)Description / Buy at
Dangerous Games(2007)Description / Buy at
Death Watch(2007)Description / Buy at
Dying Fall(2008)Description / Buy at
Fatal Quest(2008)Description / Buy at
Fatal Quest is a prequel novel to the Inspector Woodend series.

If You Like Chief Inspector Woodend Books, You’ll Love…

DCI Charlie Woodend Synopsis: In The Salton Killings by Sally Spencer (book 1 of the Inspector Woodend series). When a teenage girl’s body is found in a village in Chesire – buried in the salt store – her best friend knows more than she’ll tell. Chief Inspector Woodend is called up from London to look into the case. After doing some digging, he finds out about another girl of a similar age’s death years earlier that resembles this case greatly. Has a serial killer been operating under everyone’s noses all of these years?

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Chief Inspector Woodend Books

Leave a Reply