Sally Spencer Alan Rustage
Sally Spencer is the pen name of English novelist Alan Rustage, who writes mystery novels (both contemporary and historical). He writes the Inspector Woodend, DCI Monika Paniatowski, Inspector Blackstone and Inspector Ruiz series. Rustage grew up in the North of England. He has taught in England as well as in Iran, but now lives in Madrid, Spain and writes full-time.

Sally Spencer became a published author in 1993 with the novel Salt of the Earth, beginning the Marston Trilogy series. Below is a list of Sally Spencer’s books in order of when they were originally released:

Get notified when Sally Spencer releases a new book at

Publication Order of Chief Inspector Woodend Books

The Salton Killings (1998)Description / Buy at
Murder at Swann's Lake (1999)Description / Buy at
Death of a Cave Dweller (2000)Description / Buy at
The Dark Lady (2001)Description / Buy at
The Golden Mile to Murder (2001)Description / Buy at
Dead on Cue (2002)Description / Buy at
The Red Herring (2002)Description / Buy at
Death of an Innocent (2002)Description / Buy at
A Death Left Hanging (2003)Description / Buy at
The Enemy Within (2003)Description / Buy at
The Witch Maker (2004)Description / Buy at
The Butcher Beyond (2004)Description / Buy at
Dying in the Dark (2005)Description / Buy at
Stone Killer (2005)Description / Buy at
A Long Time Dead (2006)Description / Buy at
Sins of the Fathers (2006)Description / Buy at
Dangerous Games (2007)Description / Buy at
Death Watch (2007)Description / Buy at
Dying Fall (2008)Description / Buy at
Fatal Quest (2008)Description / Buy at
Fatal Quest is a prequel novel to the Inspector Woodend series.

Publication Order of Jennie Redhead Mystery Books

The Shivering Turn (2017)Description / Buy at
Dry Bones (2018)Description / Buy at
Daughters of Darkness (2020)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of London Books

Old Father Thames (1995)Description / Buy at
South Of The River (1998)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Marston Trilogy Books

Salt of the Earth (1994)Description / Buy at
Up Our Street (1995)Description / Buy at
Those Golden Days (1996)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Monika Paniatowski Books

The Dead Hand of History (2009)Description / Buy at
The Ring of Death (2010)Description / Buy at
Echoes of the Dead (2011)Description / Buy at
Backlash (2011)Description / Buy at
Lambs to the Slaughter (2012)Description / Buy at
A Walk with the Dead (2013)Description / Buy at
Death's Dark Shadow (2014)Description / Buy at
Supping with the Devil (2014)Description / Buy at
Best Served Cold (2015)Description / Buy at
Thicker Than Water (2016)Description / Buy at
Death in Disguise (2016)Description / Buy at
The Hidden (2017)Description / Buy at
Dead End (2019)Description / Buy at
Poison (2022)Description / Buy at
The Final Beat of the Drum (2023)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Inspector Sam Blackstone Books

A Rendezvous with Death (2003)Description / Buy at
Blackstone and the Tiger / Blackstone and the Great Game (2004)Description / Buy at
Blackstone and the Golden Egg / Blackstone and the House of Secrets (2005)Description / Buy at
Blackstone and the Fire Bug / Blackstone and the Burning Secret (2005)Description / Buy at
Blackstone and the Balloon of Death / Blackstone and the Stage of Death (2006)Description / Buy at
Blackstone and the Heart of Darkness (2007)Description / Buy at
Blackstone and the New World (2009)Description / Buy at
Blackstone and the Wolf of Wall Street (2010)Description / Buy at
Blackstone and the Great War (2012)Description / Buy at
Blackstone and the Endgame (2013)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Detective Sam Brody Thriller Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Morgan Horse (1994)Description / Buy at
A Picnic in Eden (1995)Description / Buy at
The Silent Land (1996)Description / Buy at
The Paradise Job (1999)Description / Buy at
Pilgrimage of Death (2016)Description / Buy at
The Madeiran Double Cross (2016)Description / Buy at
Violation (2017)Description / Buy at
The Vital Chain (2017)Description / Buy at
A Conspiracy of Aunts (2017)Description / Buy at
The Company (2021)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Juanita's Flowers (2009)Description / Buy at

Notes: The Inspector Ruiz series was written under the pen name of James Garcia Woods. The Inspector Blackstone series was originally written using his real name of Alan Rustage, up until Blackstone and the Wolf of Wall Street.

If You Like Sally Spencer Books, You’ll Love…

Sally Spencer/Alan Rustage Synopsis: A Picnic in Eden by Sally Spencer is the author’s first standalone novel. On a freezing cold day, two young man are at the funeral of their best friend. It all seemed so easy when they first met, but as they grew older, they realized that life was harder than they had expected…

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Sally Spencer Books

Leave a Reply