The Rev. Clare Fergusson/Russ Van Alstyne series is a series of mystery novels by American author Julia Spencer-Fleming. Fergusson was once a helicopter pilot, but has now retired to be an Espicopalian priest. Van Alstyne is a police chief of the small upstate town of Millers Kill, New York.

Spencer-Fleming began her Fergusson/Van Alstyne series in 2002 with the novel In the Bleak Midwinter. The series has won several awards, including the Agatha, Anthony, Macavity, Dilys, Barry, Nero Wolfe and Gumshoe awards. The series is currently ongoing. Below is a list of Julia Spencer-Fleming’s Clare Fergusson/Russ Van Alstyne books in order of when they were originally published (which is also their chronological order):

Get notified when Julia Spencer-Fleming releases a new book at

Publication Order of Rev. Clare Fergusson & Russ Van Alstyne Mysteries Books

In the Bleak Midwinter(2002)Description / Buy at
A Fountain Filled with Blood(2003)Description / Buy at
Out of the Deep I Cry(2004)Description / Buy at
To Darkness and to Death(2005)Description / Buy at
All Mortal Flesh(2006)Description / Buy at
I Shall Not Want(2008)Description / Buy at
Letters to a Soldier(2009)Description / Buy at
One Was a Soldier(2011)Description / Buy at
Through the Evil Days(2013)Description / Buy at
Hid from Our Eyes(2020)Description / Buy at

If You Like Clare Fergusson & Russ Val Alstyne Books, You’ll Love…

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Clare Fergusson & Russ Van Alstyne Books

One Response to “Order of Clare Fergusson & Russ Van Alstyne Books”

  1. Susan Gardner: 3 years ago

    Just want to know if there is going to be another book in this series! Love it and hated to see it end…


Leave a Reply