Frontier by Peter Watt
The Frontier series is a series of historical fiction/family saga novels by Australian novelist Peter Watt. Starting out in Queensland, this series follows the Duffy and Macintosh families from the colonial days of Australia to the First World War to the Second World War (and beyond).

Peter Watt began his Frontier series in 1999 with the novel Cry of the Curlew. The series is currently ongoing. Below is a list of Peter Watt’s Frontier books in order of when they were originally published (which is the same as their chronological order):

Get notified when Peter Watt releases a new book at

Publication Order of Frontier Books

Cry of the Curlew(2000)Description / Buy at
Shadow of the Osprey(2000)Description / Buy at
Flight of the Eagle(2002)Description / Buy at
To Chase The Storm(2004)Description / Buy at
To Touch The Clouds(2009)Description / Buy at
To Ride The Wind(2010)Description / Buy at
Beyond the Horizon(2012)Description / Buy at
War Clouds Gather(2013)Description / Buy at
And Fire Falls(2014)Description / Buy at
Beneath a Rising Sun(2015)Description / Buy at
While the Moon Burns(2016)Description / Buy at
From the Stars Above(2018)Description / Buy at

If You Like Frontier Books, You’ll Love…

Frontier Synopses: Cry of the Curlew by Peter Watt (book 1 of the Frontier series) is the tale of two families, the Macintoshes and the Duffys, who are locked in a deadly battle from the moment squatter Donald Macintosh commits a barbarous act on his Queensland property. Their paths cross in love, death and revenge as both families fight to tame the wild frontier of Australia’s north country.

Shadow of the Osprey is book 2 in the Frontier series. Soldier of fortune Michael Duffy returns to colonial Sydney on a covert mission and with old scores to settle, still enraged by a bitter feud between his family and the ruthless Macintoshes. The Palmer River gold rush lures American prospector Luke Tracy back to Australia’s rugged north country in his elusive search for riches and the great passion of his life, Kate O’Keefe.

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Frontier Books

Leave a Reply