Gil Mayo is the protagonist in a series of crime fiction novels by British novelist Marjorie Eccles. Gil Mayo is a wise-cracking police detective based out of the Midlands, England. The series was adapted to a TV series by the BBC, starring Alistair McGowan.

Marjorie Eccles began her Gil Mayo series in 1988 with the novel Cast a Cold Eye. The series lasted 13 novels, concluding in 2001 with Untimely Graves. Below is a list of Marjorie Eccles’ Gil Mayo books in order of when they were first released (which is the same as their chronological order):

Get notified when Marjorie Eccles releases a new book at

Publication Order of Gil Mayo Books

Cast a Cold Eye(1988)Description / Buy at
Death of a Good Woman(1989)Description / Buy at
Requiem for a Dove(1990)Description / Buy at
More Deaths Than One(1991)Description / Buy at
Late of This Parish(1992)Description / Buy at
The Company She Kept(1993)Description / Buy at
An Accidental Shroud(1994)Description / Buy at
A Death of Distinction(1995)Description / Buy at
A Species of Revenge(1996)Description / Buy at
Killing Me Softly(1998)Description / Buy at
The Superintendent's Daughter(1999)Description / Buy at
A Sunset Touch(2000)Description / Buy at
Untimely Graves(2001)Description / Buy at

If You Like Gil Mayo Books, You’ll Love…

Gil Mayo Synopses: Death of a Good Woman by Marjorie Eccles is the second book in the Gil Mayo series. Best-selling author Fleur Lamont, reowned for her charitable works, had left her husband – or so he had said. When her body turned up two weeks later the subsequent murder investigation caused Inspector Mayo to revise his opinions about Fleur, her family and friends.

Requiem for a Dove is the third book in the Gil Mayo series from Marjorie Eccles. Widow Marion Dove is found strangled in the canal near her isolated home. It isn’t long before Superintendent Mayo realizes that the murderer is someone from within family – and they all have means, motive, opportunity and alibis.

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Gil Mayo Books

Leave a Reply