Hook Runyon is the protagonist in a series of historical mystery novels by American novelist Sheldon Russell. Hook Runyon works as a railroad security agent for the Santa Fe Railroad during the mid-1940s, towards the end of World War II. Hook is a complex character, equal parts rough and vulnerable, an unlikely and unwilling hero.

Sheldon Russell began his Hook Runyon series in 2009 with the novel The Yard Dog. Below is a list of Sheldon Russell’s Hook Runyon books in order of when they were first released (which is the same as their chronological order):

Get notified when Sheldon Russell releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Publication Order of Hook Runyon Mystery Books

The Yard Dog(2009)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Insane Train(2010)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Dead Man's Tunnel(2012)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Hanging of Samuel Ash(2013)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Bridge Troll Murders(2017)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

If You Like Hook Runyon Books, You’ll Love…

Hook Runyon Synopsis: The Yard Dog by Sheldon Russell takes place near the end of World War II, when a large number of Nazi POWs were incarcerated in camps scattered across the prairies of the United States. At Waynoka Divisional Point, near POW Camp Alva, the disillusioned Hook Runyon is assigned by the railroad to run off hobos and arrest pickpockets. Left behind in the war because of the loss of his arm in a car accident, Hook lives in a caboose, collects rare books, and drinks busthead liquor. When a coal picker by the name of Spark Dugan is found run over by a reefer car, Hook and his sidekick, Runt, the local moonshiner, suspect foul play and are drawn into a scheme far greater than either could have imagined. This conspiracy reaches the highest echelons of the camp and beyond and will push Hook and Runt to their physical and mental limits.

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Hook Runyon Books

Leave a Reply