Inspector O by James Church
Inspector O is the protagonist in a series of detective fiction novels by American novelist James Church. Inspector O is an elusive and mysterious detective based in North Korea, where he finds himself mixed in with various conspiracies and cover-ups. The series has been referred to as “an unusually nuanced and detailed portrait” of North Korean society.

James Church began his Inspector O series in 2006 with the novel A Corpse in the Koryo. The series is currently ongoing. Below is a list of James Church’s Inspector O books in order of when they were originally published (which is the same as their chronological order):

Get notified when James Church releases a new book at

Publication Order of Inspector O Books

A Corpse in the Koryo(2006)Description / Buy at
Hidden Moon(2007)Description / Buy at
Bamboo and Blood(2008)Description / Buy at
The Man with the Baltic Stare(2010)Description / Buy at
A Drop of Chinese Blood(2012)Description / Buy at
The Gentleman from Japan(2016)Description / Buy at

If You Like Inspector O Books, You’ll Love…

Inspector O Synopsis: Hidden Moon is book two in the Inspector O series by James Church. Inspector O, who works for the ministry of public security in North Korea, is man of moral and professional standards while toiling in an inefficient bureaucracy where competing intelligence services spend significant time spying on each other to look for anything that might go against the ideology of North Korea. He’s ordered to investigate a bank robbery, a rarity in Pyongyang. When no one cooperates with him, it suggests in reality, the government doesn’t want the truth to be known. Things get even dicier when a British dignitary’s arrival apparently triggers an assassination plot that could have ramifications for the current regime.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Inspector O Books

Leave a Reply