Kennedy and Trentham by Shirley Wells
The Kennedy & Trentham series is a series of police procedural/mystery novels by English novelist Shirley Wells. In this series, Jill Kennedy is a forensic psychologist who leaves a big job in London (due to a wrongful conviction on a case she worked on) for a small village in Lancashire, England. Expectations for an easier life in the village of Kelton turn out to be incorrect, and murders seem to follow her there. DCI Max Trentham, her former colleague and also former lover, is dispatched to investigate, and a partnership is re-formed.

Shirley Wells began her Jill Kennedy and Max Trentham series in 2007 with the novel Into the Shadows. The series lasted five novels, concluding with the 2011 novel Shades of Evil. Below is a list of Shirley Wells’ Kennedy & Trentham books in order of when they were originally published (which is the same as their chronological order):

Get notified when Shirley Wells releases a new book at

Publication Order of Jill Kennedy and DCI Max Trentham Mystery Books

Into the Shadows(2007)Description / Buy at
A Darker Side(2008)Description / Buy at
Where Petals Fall(2009)Description / Buy at
The Broken Circle(2010)Description / Buy at
Shades of Evil(2012)Description / Buy at
The Final Echoes(2017)Description / Buy at

If You Like Kennedy & Trentham Books, You’ll Love…

Jill Kennedy & DCI Max Trentham Synopsis: The Broken Circle by Shirley Wells is book 4 in the Kennedy & Trentham series. Forensic psychologist Jill Kennedy and DCI Max Trentham investigate a crime in the quiet Lancashire village where Kennedy now lives. A man who has only recently moved to Lancashire has been murdered. And it appears he has a history that isn’t exactly savoury. The locals aren’t usually too warm towards strangers or newcomers, but one of the locals in the village seems intent on disrupting the investigation.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Kennedy & Trentham Books

Leave a Reply