Lambert and Hook by JM Gregson
Lambert and Hook is a series of crime fiction novels by British author J.M. Gregson. The series follows Superintendent John Lambert and Detective Sergeant Bert Hook. Aside from both being police officers, both share a mutual interest in golf. The series is set in Gloucestershire, England.

J.M. Gregson began his Lambert and Hook series in 1989 with the novel Murder at the Nineteenth. The series is currently ongoing. Below is a list of J.M. Gregson’s Lambert and Hook books in order of when they were first published (which is the same as their chronological order):

Get notified when J.M. Gregson releases a new book at

Publication Order of Lambert and Hook Books

Murder at the Nineteenth(1989)Description / Buy at
Making a Killing / For Sale - With Corpse(1990)Description / Buy at
Bring Forth Your Dead(1991)Description / Buy at
Dead on Course(1991)Description / Buy at
Stranglehold(1993)Description / Buy at
The Fox in the Forest(1994)Description / Buy at
Watermarked(1994)Description / Buy at
Death of a Nobody(1995)Description / Buy at
Accident by Design(1996)Description / Buy at
Girl Gone Missing(1998)Description / Buy at
Malice Aforethought(1999)Description / Buy at
An Unsuitable Death(2000)Description / Buy at
An Academic Death(2001)Description / Buy at
Death on the Eleventh Hole(2002)Description / Buy at
Body Politic(2003)Description / Buy at
Mortal Taste(2003)Description / Buy at
Just Desserts(2004)Description / Buy at
Too Much of Water(2005)Description / Buy at
Close Call(2006)Description / Buy at
Something Is Rotten(2007)Description / Buy at
A Good Walk Spoiled(2008)Description / Buy at
Darkness Visible(2009)Description / Buy at
In Vino Veritas(2010)Description / Buy at
Die Happy(2011)Description / Buy at
More Than Meets The Eye(2012)Description / Buy at
Cry of The Children(2013)Description / Buy at
Rest Assured(2014)Description / Buy at
Skeleton Plot(2015)Description / Buy at
Final Act(2016)Description / Buy at

If You Like Lambert and Hook Books, You’ll Love…

Lambert and Hook Synopses: For Sale – With Corpse is book 2 in the Lambert and Hook series by J.M. Gregson. When an estate agent is murdered Inspector Lambert and Sergeant Hook investigate a small group of suspects consisting of his four employees, the wife of one of them, and a drunken derelict who knows more than he should.

Dead on Course is book 3 of the series. Amid the luxurious surroundings of the Wye Castle Hotel and Country Club, a man’s body is discovered on the golf course. Superintendent Lambert and Sergeant Hook establish fairly quickly how he died. But the difficult part is not how he died – it’s who did it. The golf course and hotel are set in spectacular scenery beside one of England’s most beautiful rivers, with Hereford’s ancient Cathedral visible in the distance. In May, this incomparable valley is at its best, yet it is a bizarre setting for the investigation of a brutal murder. Gradually, over the days of their stay, Lambert unearths the secrets of the group who surrounded the dead man. The investigation becomes ever more urgent, for even as the suspects play golf and enjoy good food and wine, there is more violence threatened within the ivy-clad walls of the old hotel…

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Lambert & Hook Books

Leave a Reply