The Oxford Medieval Mysteries series is a series of historical mystery novels by Ann Swinfen. Set in the 14th century, the series follows bookseller Nicholas Elyot – a young widower with two young children – and his friend from university, Jordain Brinksylsworth. The pair look to fight crime in a world where the Black Death is a recent occurrence.

Ann Swinfen began her Oxford Medieval Mysteries in 2016 with the novel The Bookseller’s Tale. The series is currently ongoing. Below is a list of Ann Swinfen’s Oxford Medieval Mysteries books in order of when they were first released (which is the same as their chronological order):

Publication Order of Oxford Medieval Mysteries Books

The Bookseller's Tale(2016)Description / Buy at
The Novice's Tale(2016)Description / Buy at
The Huntsman's Tale(2017)Description / Buy at
The Merchant's Tale(2017)Description / Buy at
The Troubadour's Tale(2018)Description / Buy at
The Stonemason's Tale(2018)Description / Buy at

If You Like Oxford Medieval Mysteries Books, You’ll Love…

Oxford Medieval Mysteries Synopsis: The Bookseller’s Tale by Ann Swinfen is the first book in the Oxford Medieval Mysteries series. When young bookseller Nicholas Elyot discovers the body of student William Farringdon floating in the river Cherwell, it looks like a drowning. Soon, however, Nicholas finds evidence that the death was murder. Who could have wanted this promising student dead? As Nicholas and his scholar friend Jordain try to unravel the truth behind William’s death, they learn that he was innocently caught up in a criminal plot. When their investigations begin to involve town, university, and abbey, Nicholas takes a risky gamble – and puts his family in terrible danger.

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Oxford Medieval Mysteries Books

One Response to “Order of Oxford Medieval Mysteries Books”

  1. Mongoose218: 6 years ago

    Don’t forget her other series: The Chronicles of Christoval Alvarez….there are several books, the first one, which starts in 1586, is “The Secret World of Christoval Alvarez”.

    They are also very well researched and quite good.

    She has also written some stand-alone historical fiction such as “This Rough Ocean” set during the Cromwell period when the king of England has been overthrown….it is based on a true story of events in her husband’s family. I enjoyed it a lot.


Leave a Reply